GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 20-9 OFFICES

Rule 20-9-.01 Registration

(1) Each physical office established or maintained for practice in this state by a CPA, partnership, professional association, or professional corporation of CPAs, or by a public accountant, partnership, or professional association of public accountants, or by a foreign accountant, shall register with the Board within sixty days after it is opened.
(a) The registration fee for a sole practitioner, for a partnership, or for an association or corporation is $150.00.
(b) The renewal fee for office registration of a sole practitioner, a partnership, or an association or corporation is $150.00.
(2) Each such physical office shall be under the supervision of a resident manager, who may be a partner, principal, shareholder, or a staff employee holding a license.
(3) A form is prescribed and is obtainable from the Board Office.
(4) Notice shall be given to the Board within thirty days of any change of address. Notice must be similarly given of the closing of any such physical offices. No form is provided for such notices but they must be in writing, and, whether in letter form or otherwise, they must be clearly headed with "Closing of Office," or similar wording.
(5) Registration permits will expire on June 30 of each even numbered year beginning on June 30, 1984, and shall become renewable at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date.
(6) In order to be eligible for registration renewal, the physical office must comply with the provisions for peer review as provided for in O.C.G.A. Section 43-3-17 and Chapter 20-13 of the Rules.
(7) An application for original registration of an office registration, otherwise in order, filed more than 30 days after it is due must be accompanied by a penalty of $250.00 in addition to the registration fee.
(8) An application for renewal of an office registration, otherwise in order, filed after the June 30th expiration date must be accompanied by a penalty of $250.00 in addition to the renewal fee. After June 30th, without an active firm registration, it is unlawful to practice public accountancy in this state. The late renewal period begins July 1st and ends September 30th.
(9) An application for reinstatement of an office registration, otherwise in order, filed after September 30th must be accompanied by a reinstatement fee of $1,150.00.

Rule 20-9-.02 Resident Manager

The Board shall not register an office for the purpose of public accountancy unless a Resident Manager has been designated to be in full and continuous charge.

(a) The Resident Manager must hold a license in this state.
(b) The Resident Manager must assume full responsibility for the supervision of the office to which he or she has been designated as resident manager.
(c) Notice shall be given to the Board, within thirty days, of any change in the position of Resident Manager.
1. In the event any physical office shall be temporarily without a Resident Manager, a grace period must be requested. The grace period may extend to six months.
2. The request for a grace period must be in writing, and must include how the operation of the office will be carried out during this period.
3. One renewal of the grace period may be requested; however, cause must be shown for this extension.