GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Subject 375-3-2 RENEWALS

Rule 375-3-2-.01 Expiration of License and Identification Card: When Licenses and Identification Cards May Be Renewed. Revised

(1)
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this regulation or any Georgia or Federal provision, licenses and identification cards issued to citizens of the United States expire on the person's birthday in the eighth (8th) year after issuance.
(b)
(1) Except as provided in Paragraph (c), any person who is not a citizen of the United States who provides proof of lawful status in the United States that satisfies the requirements of 6 C.F.R. 37.11 Ga. Admin. Comp. Ch. 375-3-1-.02 and is otherwise eligible for the issuance of a driver's license or identification card may be issued a temporary driver's license, permit, or special identification card. Such temporary driver's license, permit, or special identification card shall be valid only during the lesser of the period of time of the applicant's authorized stay in the United States as reflected on such documentation or the maximum term allowed by Georgia statute, and shall reflect that it is issued for a limited term.
(2) Any person who presents immigration documentation that does not bear an expiration date shall be eligible for a temporary driver's license, permit, or special identification card valid for one (1) year.
(c) Non-citizen customers who have a limited-term Georgia driver's license, permit, or identification card that has expired or will expire within thirty (30) days of making application for renewal may be issued a temporary driving permit or identification card thereof valid for 120 days if they present documentation showing that they have applied for, but not received, an extension of their previously verified lawful immigration status. No additional temporary driving permits or identification cards shall be issued upon expiration of the 120 day-period pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 40-5-21.1.
(d) No temporary license, permit, or special identification card issued pursuant to this regulation shall be renewed by any means other than in person.
(e) Veterans licenses and veterans identification cards shall be valid for eight (8) years.
(2) Licenses and identification cards may be renewed up to one hundred fifty (150) days prior to the date of expiration. No license or identification card may be renewed prior to that time without prior approval by the Commissioner or his designee. Such a renewal will terminate the license or identification card renewed, and no rebate of fees will be authorized.
(3) Each customer applying for renewal of a license, permit or identification card on or after July 1, 2012 shall present documentation of his or her identity, citizenship or lawful status in the United States, and residency in the State of Georgia as provided in Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 375-3-1-.02 and the REAL ID Act (as regulated by 6 C.F.R. 37 ).

Rule 375-3-2-.02 Alternative Means of Renewal

(1) The Commissioner may authorize, consistent with Georgia law and with these regulations, renewal of a driver's license or identification card by the following means:
(a) Personal appearance;
(b) Renewal by mail;
(c) Renewal by telephone; and/or
(d) Renewal via electronic means.
(2) Except as otherwise authorized by the Commissioner, licenses, permits and identification cards must be renewed by personal appearance at a Department of Driver Services facility before a driver's license examiner of the Department.
(3) The Commissioner is authorized to waive the requirement of a personal appearance under the following circumstances:
(a) All such waivers shall be consistent with public safety considerations;
(b) All such waivers shall be designed so as to promote efficiency of service to the holders of licenses, permits and identification cards;
(c) No person may be granted a waiver from renewal by personal appearance if that person's license or identification card is currently revoked, suspended, or cancelled. If a license or identification card is revoked, suspended, or cancelled after a waiver has been granted, the waiver shall be deemed to be withdrawn without the necessity of further action by the Department, and the person shall be required to appear in person to reinstate the license or identification card prior to renewal.
(d) Persons granted a waiver from the requirement of a personal appearance for the renewal of a driver's license shall certify that their vision and physical condition have not significantly changed since the last personal appearance before the Department, and that the person remains mentally and physically capable of the safe operation of a motor vehicle of the class for which the license is being renewed.
(e) Persons age sixty-four (64) or older granted a waiver from the requirement of personal appearance must submit proof that they have undergone an examination, within twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the application for the license, that demonstrates that they have met the minimum vision standards established by Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 375-3-5-.08. Such examination must have been conducted by a physician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist, licensed by the State of Georgia.
(f) A person granted a waiver will not be required to surrender the driver's license or identification card being renewed if the waiver is exercised; however, the Department will advise the person of reasons why the license or identification card should be destroyed by the person.
(g) No person will be granted a waiver unless the person's photograph and signature are on file via digital image.
(h) No temporary license, permit or special identification card issued pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 40-5-21.1 shall be issued via any means other than in person.
(i) In order to be eligible for renewal of a license, permit or identification card via alternative means, a customer must have complied with the provisions of Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 375-3-2-.01(3) on or after July 1, 2012.
(j) Each customer must conduct at least one (1) in-person transaction every sixteen (16) years.

Rule 375-3-2-.03 Renewal of License and Identification Card: Fees for Alternative Means of Renewal

(1) The fee charged to the person who opts to renew a drivers license or identification card by means other than by personal appearance shall be reduced by $5.00.
(2) Persons who renew by mail may pay the applicable fee by certified check, cashiers check, postal money order, or personal check. Checks must be made payable to the Department of Driver Services.
(3) Persons who renew by telephone or by electronic means may pay the applicable fee by use of such credit cards or debit cards as from time to time may be authorized for use by the Department.
(4) If a check is returned by the drawer's bank for any reason, the Department shall assess a returned check fee of $30.00 or 5 percent of the face amount of the instrument, whichever is greater. Additionally, the Department shall charge an additional fee in an amount equal to that charged to the Department by the bank or financial institution as a result of the check not being honored. The license or identification card shall be cancelled, and shall not be reinstated until the person pays the applicable fee and the returned check fee. The Department may require that payment in this circumstance be made in cash. For the purposes of this regulation, payment through the use of a debit card shall be deemed to be payment by check.
(5) If a credit card transaction is rejected or the subject of a "charge back," the license or identification card shall be cancelled, and shall not be reinstated until the person pays the applicable fee. The Department may require that payment in this circumstance be made in cash.
(6) The Commissioner may, in his sole discretion, debit any "merchant fee" imposed by a credit card issuer against receipts prior to transmission of receipts to the Treasury, or may impose a convenience fee as provided by law on credit card transactions.

Rule 375-3-2-.04 Remote Renewal of Licenses, Permits, and Identification Cards. Revised

(1) Driver's licenses, permits and identification cards may be renewed by mail, provided that the licensee's photograph, and signature are on file via digital image. Applicants may be eligible for renewal by mail if they meet the requirements of paragraph (2). The applicant applying for the renewal of the license must make written request for the renewal and include therein:
(a) Payment of the appropriate fee for the class license, permits, or identification cards currently held by the licensee. This fee must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, postal money order or credit card authorization
(b) Proof of Georgia residence
(c) Complete and submit a notarized DDS-23 MIR
(d) Military personnel, their dependents and commanding officer must complete and sign the Georgia Department of Driver Services "Affidavit for Military Personnel Unable to Visit A Customer Service Center" (DDS-359 MIR) stating that they are active duty military or a dependent. A "Vision Screening Results" Form (DDS-274A) must also be completed for those 64 or older.
(e) Students must submit, along with their renewal request, a letter from a school official stating that he/she is a full-time student. A "Vision Screening Results" Form (DDS-274A) must also be completed for those 64 or older.
(f) Customers temporarily located out of state for employment purposes must submit a completed, signed and notarized Georgia Department of Driver Services "Affidavit for Customers on Temporary Work Assignment Out of State Unable to Visit A Customer Service Center" (DDS-360 MIR) by the employee and employer. A "Vision Screening Results" Form (DDS-274A) must also be completed for those 64 or older.
(g) Customers physically unable to visit a DDS location in person due to physical incapacitation must submit a completed, signed and notarized Georgia Department of Driver Services "Affidavit for Customers Physically Unable to Visit a Customer Service Center" (DDS-361 MIR) documenting their incapacitation and inability to visit a customer service center from a licensed physician. An identification card will be issued upon approval of the remote renewal request. Customers with an active Georgia driver's license, the license will be surrendered upon issuance of the identification card.
(2) Customers seeking to renew by mail must show evidence that they are Georgia residents who are:
(a) Temporarily located out of state due to:
(i) active duty military service or their dependents stationed outside of Georgia; or
(ii) attendance of school outside of Georgia or their dependents who are located out-of-state with them; or
(iii) employment assignment.
(b) Physically unable to visit a DDS location in person due to their physical or medical incapacitation.
(3) Notwithstanding satisfaction of the requirements set forth above, the records of the Department must include a usable photograph and signature image for the customer to complete the renewal process by mail.
(4) Customers will be allowed one full-term renewal by the remote renewal process.
(5) Each customer applying for renewal of a license, permit or identification card pursuant to this regulation on or after July 1, 2012 must satisfy the requirements of Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 375-3-1-.02.