GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Subject 40-27-1 LIMING MATERIALS

Rule 40-27-1-.01 Definitions

(1) "Act" means the Georgia Liming Materials Act of 1996.
(2) "Fineness or Particle Size" means the percentage by weight of the liming material which will pass a U. S. Standard sieve and the following minimums shall apply:
(a) Solid liming materials:

90% through a 10 mesh sieve

50% through a 50 mesh sieve

25% through a 100 mesh sieve

(b) Liquid or suspension liming materials:

100% through a 20 mesh sieve

60% through a 200 mesh sieve

(c) Finely ground limestone:

98% through a 20 mesh sieve

70% through a 100 mesh sieve

(d) Industrial by-products - while no minimums are required, product labels must state the following:

Percentage (%) passing a 10 mesh sieve

Percentage (%) passing a 50 mesh sieve

Percentage (%) passing a 100 mesh sieve

Rule 40-27-1-.02 License Fees

A new licensee shall pay a license fee of $70.00. The renewal fee for a Lime License shall be due annually on July 1 of each year. Fees and renewals received after July 1 each year shall be:

Date Fee Received

Tonnage Previous Year

License Renewal Fee

July 2 through July 31

Less than 10,000 tons

$105

  

10,000 tons or more

$210

Aug. 1 through Aug. 31

Less than 10,000 tons

$140

  

10,000 tons or more

$280

Sept. 1 and Later

Less than 10,000 tons

$175

 

10,000 tons or more

$350

Rule 40-27-1-.03 Product Registration Renewal and Renewal Fees

The registration fee shall be $70.00 per product. Such fee shall be submitted with the registration, and a renewal fee of $70.00. The renewal of product registration and payment of the renewal fee shall be due on July 1 of each year. Fees and renewals received after July 1, each year shall be:

Date Fee Received

Registration Renewal Fee

July 2 through July 31

$105 per product

Aug. 1 through Aug. 31

$140 per product

Sept. 1 and Later

$175 per product

Rule 40-27-1-.04 Tonnage Reporting

Every licensee shall file a tonnage report twice annually, no later than July 30, covering tonnage shipped January 1 through June 30 and no later than January 31 covering tonnage shipped July 1 through December 31. All tonnage shall be reported to two (2) decimal places when less than one (1) ton is reported and to the nearest ton when more than one (1) ton is reported. Each report shall include the following information:

(a) Total tonnage of all liming materials distributed.
(b) Total tonnage of solid liming materials distributed.
(c) Total tonnage of liquid or suspension liming materials distributed.
(d) Total tonnage of Dolomitic liming materials distributed.
(e) Total tonnage of Calcitic liming materials distributed.

Rule 40-27-1-.05 Calcium Carbonate Equivalents

(1) Certain liming materials shall be labeled to show their calcium carbonate equivalent (CCE) as follows:
(a) Burnt Lime - not less than 40 percent.
(b) Hydrated Lime - not less than 110 percent.
(c) Other Solid Liming Materials - not less than 85 percent.
(d) Liquid or Suspension Materials - not less than 45 percent.
(2) Marl and industrial by-products when used for neutralizing value may vary in their composition and shall not be subject to a minimum calcium carbonate equivalent (CCE) but must be labeled to show the minimum calcium carbonate contained in the product.

Rule 40-27-1-.06 Magnesium Content

Solid dolomitic liming materials shall contain a minimum of six (6) percent magnesium and liquid or suspension dolomitic liming materials must contain at least three (3) percent magnesium.

Rule 40-27-1-.07 Moisture Content

(1) Solid liming materials shall contain no more than fifteen (15) percent moisture and liquid or suspension liming materials shall contain no more than 50% moisture.
(2) Industrial by-products shall not be subject to a maximum moisture content but must be labeled to show the maximum moisture contained.

Rule 40-27-1-.08 Investigational Allowances

Liming materials shall be considered deficient when:

(a) The calcium carbonate equivalent (CCE) is found to be more than two (2) percent below the guaranteed CCE.
(b) The elemental calcium (Ca) content is found to be more than ten (10) percent below the guaranteed calcium content.
(c) The elemental magnesium (mg) content is found to be more than ten (10) percent below the guaranteed magnesium content.
(d) The particle size is found to be more than five (5) percent below the percentage guaranteed.
(e) The moisture content is found to be more than twelve (12) percent above the guaranteed maximum moisture content.

Rule 40-27-1-.09 Reports of Analysis and Requests for Portions of Official Samples

(1) Reports on all liming materials whose analysis shows the sample to be within the investigational allowances established above shall show that the sample is found to be in compliance and shall not be required to show the actual analyses.
(2) Upon request of a licensee within ten (10) days after receipt of a liming materials analysis report, the Commissioner shall make available a portion of the official sample of any liming material reported to be deficient.

Rule 40-27-1-.10 Determining Injurious Toxic Materials

In determining if a liming material contains quantities of toxic materials which could be injurious to plants or animals, the Commissioner shall rely upon guidelines or other data developed by the University of Georgia.

Rule 40-27-1-.11 Liming Material Sampling

The Commissioner or his duly designated agent is authorized to collect samples of a liming material upon demand without charge or cost from any public or private premises within this state in which a liming material is manufactured, processed, packed, stored, distributed or held for distribution and from any vehicle used to transport or hold such a liming material. Methods of sampling shall be those prescribed by the Commissioner.