GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 510-7 RENEWAL/REINSTATEMENT/INACTIVE LICENSE

Rule 510-7-.01 Renewal

Every psychology license will expire on December 31st of even numbered years, and will be renewable for two years if all requirements for renewal, including continuing education requirements are satisfied, and the renewal fee is paid. Psychologists practicing with an expired license are subject to disciplinary action by the Board. Licenses may be renewed within thirty one (31) days after their expiration and are subject to a late renewal penalty fee in addition to the renewal fee. Licensees are NOT to practice after December 31st of each even numbered year until the license has been renewed and is in active status. See fee schedule and continuing education rule. Failure to renew a license within thirty one (31) days of its expiration, the license shall be considered lapsed. Reinstatement is at the sole discretion of the Board.

Rule 510-7-.02 Reinstatement

(1) A license which has lapsed for failure to renew may be reinstated within one year, from the date the license lapsed, at the sole discretion of the Board, upon submission of an Application for Reinstatement, documentation of 40 hours of continuing education activities that were completed within two years of the date the application is received by the Board, and payment of a penalty fee as set by the Board (See Fee Schedule). Reinstatement after more than twelve (12) months following lapse of the license will require submission of an Application for Reinstatement, documentation of 40 hours of continuing education activities that were completed within two calendar years of the date the application is received by the Board, and passage of both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations.
(2) For applicants holding a current license in another jurisdiction, a Georgia license which has been in lapsed status for one or more years may be reinstated, at the sole discretion of the Board, upon completion of the requirements set forth above, plus submission of Verification of Current Licensure from the licensing jurisdiction, and passage of both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations.

Rule 510-7-.03 Inactive Status

(1) A person must have a current Georgia psychology license to practice psychology in Georgia or to use the title "psychologist" in Georgia.
(a) A licensee who holds a current license, and who will not use the title "psychologist" in Georgia and will not practice psychology in Georgia, may apply for Inactive Status by completing an Application for Inactive Status and submitting the appropriate fee (see Fee Schedule) to the Board. A licensee may not use his or her license in the State of Georgia while that license is on Inactive Status.
(b) A licensee who wishes to reactivate an inactive license who has an active license in another state and who has been actively practicing psychology there within the past two years must submit to the Board an Application to Reactivate, documentation of 40 hours of continuing education activities, in accordance with the requirements for continuing education hours specified in Board rule 510-8, that were completed within two calendar years of the date the application is received by the Board, and appropriate fee. See Fee Schedule.
(c) For the Board to approve reactivation of the license of a psychologist who has not had an active license in another state and who has not been actively practicing psychology the licensee must also pass both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations in addition to the requirements set forth in (b) above.