GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 510-9 LICENSES OF LIMITED DURATION

Rule 510-9-.01 Temporary License

(1) A temporary license is available only to applicants for licensure by endorsement. See Chapter entitled "Licensure by Endorsement".
(2) The applicant for a temporary license must submit a written request for a temporary license along with their application for licensure by endorsement and the appropriate fee. See Fee Schedule.
(3) The Board will consider the request for a temporary license only after the application for licensure by endorsement is complete. The applicant must have taken and passed both the EPPP and the Georgia Jurisprudence examination and the Board has determined that the applicant is eligible to sit for the required oral examination.
(4) The Temporary License will be in effect for a maximum of 12 months. To continue to practice psychology in Georgia beyond that year, the holder must have obtained a license to practice psychology by endorsement.

Rule 510-9-.02 Provisional License

(1) The Board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for a permanent license, but only to an individual who is in the process of completing the postdoctoral supervised work experience requirement. The provisional license may be granted to an individual who has passed all written examinations and completed all other requirements for permanent licensure except for the postdoctoral supervised work experience requirement and the oral examination.
(2) A provisional license will expire in 24 months unless the Board grants an exception, or in the event of the granting of a permanent license, whichever occurs first. The provisional license shall not be renewable. Individuals licensed under this subsection are restricted to the stipulations of the supervised work experience requirement.
(3) A provisional license is subject to revocation if the Board determines that the requirements of the supervised work experience are not being satisfactorily met. Revocation of a provisional license shall not be considered a contested case within the meaning of Chapter 13 of Title 50, the "Georgia Administrative Procedure Act", but a holder of a provisional license shall have the right to appear before the Board.

Rule 510-9-.03 Permission for Limited Practice

An individual licensed to practice psychology at the doctoral level in another jurisdiction may practice psychology in Georgia without applying for a Georgia license, so long as the following requirements are met:

(a) The individual holds an Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate (IPC) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) and
1. at least 5 days before the intended practice submits an IPC attestation form and
2. ASPPB verifies the IPC certificate is current and valid or
(b) at least 5 days before the intended practice, the individual notifies the Board of their intent to practice in Georgia with dates, address, and nature of intended practice and 1. Submits a verification form from their jurisdiction of licensure indicating no history of disciplinary action.
(c) The psychologist must limit his/her practice in Georgia to a maximum of 30 days per calendar year (a day being defined as any part of a day where psychological work is performed). This permission for limited practice only applies to individuals who are currently not seeking licensure in Georgia.
(d) The state of Georgia provides that a person must be licensed as a psychologist in the state to render psychological services however, the following are exempted: The activities and services of a non resident of the state of Georgia who renders consulting or other psychological services if such activities and services are rendered in cooperation with the American Red Cross, the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation, or as a member of the Disaster Response Network of the American Psychological Association or the Georgia Psychological Association or other nationally recognized disaster response networks. The Board shall be informed prior, if possible, to the initiation of said services.

Rule 510-9-.04 License for Volunteer Service

(a) A license issued by consent order by the board may be granted to persons who are retired from the practice of psychology or who have an inactive license and who are not currently engaged in the practice of psychology either full time or part time and who have prior to retirement or attaining inactive status, maintained full licensure in psychology in good standing.
(b) This license by consent order shall permit the practice of psychology only in the non compensated employ of public agencies or institutions, not for profit agencies, not for profit institutions, nonprofit corporations, or not for profit associations providing services to indigent patients in areas which are underserved or are in critical need population areas of the state and will not receive compensation for the services of the psychologist.
(c) Examinations by the psychology board, application fees, and all licensure and renewal fees will be waived.
(d) The board will issue a license by consent order for volunteer service after the person has applied for and successfully completed a personal interview with the board.
(e) In order to be approved to interview with the board the person requesting license by consent order for volunteer service shall submit to the board by application:
(1) verification that most recently held license was in good standing.
(2) proof of meeting 20 hours continuing education requirements for licensure renewal in the two years immediately prior to application for volunteer service. If continuing education requirements are not complete at the time of application the applicant may be granted a non renewable 6 month temporary license by consent order with the provision that the person has successfully completed the personal interview with the board and the understanding that all continuing education requirements shall be met within 6 months after being issued the temporary license.
(3) a notarized statement from the agency that will receive the volunteer services attesting to the fact that the psychologist will not be compensated for their services and the agency will not bill for or in any way be compensated for the services provided by the psychologist. The notarized statement will also verify that the agency will provide malpractice insurance coverage for the volunteer psychologist.
(f) The requirements for renewal for a license by consent order for volunteer service will be the same as required to renew a psychology license except that the time for renewal will be determined by the consent order and may require a personal interview if requested by the board.