GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 121-4 ISSUANCE, RENEWAL, AND EXPIRATION

Rule 121-4-.01 Issuance

Licenses and certifications will be issued upon the appropriate division's determination of the applicants meeting the requirements given in Chapter 121-2 and Chapter 121-3 of these Rules.

Rule 121-4-.02 Renewal, Reinstatement, and Expiration

(1) Licenses and certificates will be renewed biennially by the expiration date as provided by Rules of the Joint Secretary, State Examining Board, 295-2. The renewal fees, late fees, and reinstatement fees will be approved by the Board in order to recover costs of administering the licensure requirements. Fees will be published in a separate schedule and will be made available to all persons licensed under this Board.
(2) Licenses or certificates if not renewed by the expiration date shall be not current and shall be deemed invalid. Any person holding such a license or certificate shall not be authorized to engage in the business or profession for which licensed.
(3) Persons may apply for renewal by submitting on or before the expiration date a completed renewal application and renewal fee.
(4) Neither the failure of the board to send nor the failure of the licensee or certificate holder to receive a renewal form shall excuse the failure to renew the license or certificate.
(5) Persons not renewing a license or certificate on or before the expiration date may apply for late renewal within six months of the expiration date by submitting a completed renewal application form with the renewal fee and late fee. Licenses and certificates not renewed within 6 months of the expiration date shall be deemed revoked. Reinstatement of such license or certificate shall be at sole discretion of the appropriate division.
(6) Persons not renewing within the 6 months late period may apply for reinstatement of the license or certificate by submitting a reinstatement application with a fee equal to the total of all current and missed renewal fees, the penalty fee, and the reinstatement fee. The reinstatement of any license or certificate shall be at the sole discretion of the appropriate division and such division may deny the license or certificate or approve such license or certificate with any conditions it may deem necessary, including but not limited to the retaking of the licensure examination. However, if the reinstatement application is submitted more than 3 years after the expiration date of the license or certificate, the applicant shall submit the required fee and meet all current qualifications for an applicant for a new license or certification, including reexamination, in addition to any other conditions required by the appropriate division.
(7) Applications for renewal or reinstatement of licenses and certificates must include, but is not limited, to the following:
(a) any findings or pleas of guilty or pleas under nolo contendere or under the "First Offender Act" for the commission of any felony or misdemeanor, other than minor traffic violations, made after approval of the previous renewal application or licensure application;
(b) authorization for division to receive any criminal history record information pertaining to the applicant which may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency;
(8) Applications for renewal or late renewal of conditioned air contractors, electrical contractors, master plumbers and journeyman plumbers licenses shall include a statement from the licensee indicating whether or not continuing education requirements provided for in this Chapter of the Board Rules have been completed. Licensees must submit documentation of completion of the continuing education requirements to the division upon request.
(9) Applications for reinstatement of conditioned air contractors, electrical contractors, master plumbers, and journeyman plumbers licenses must include evidence of completion of 4 hours of continuing education as defined in this Chapter for each year since the last renewal of the license. If a license has not been renewed or reinstated since the issuance of the license, the application for reinstatement must include evidence of completion of 4 hours of continuing education for each year since the initial issuance of the license.

Rule 121-4-.03 Replacement

(1) A replacement certificate may be issued to a licensee who provides an affidavit to the appropriate Division identifying the cause for loss of his original certificate and submits a fee of $10.00. A certificate will be considered issued upon receipt by the licensee.
(2) A replacement pocket identification card may be issued upon approval by the appropriate Division following the licensee's documentation of the cause for the loss of the original pocket identification card and payment of a fee of $5.00. All duplicate identification cards will be plainly marked as a duplicate. An identification card will be considered issued upon receipt by the licensee.

Rule 121-4-.04 Rosters

Rosters of each Division may be issued upon receipt of payment of $5.00 per roster. A roster of each Division may be provided to each municipal and county inspection authority and business license authority and to each member of the Board without charge. Up to a maximum of 5 rosters of each Division may be issued without charge to the municipal or county inspection and business license authorities upon request.

Rule 121-4-.05 Continuing Education for Conditioned Air Contractors

(1) Conditioned Air Contractors are required to complete, prior to license renewal, continuing education as described in paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of this Rule. Failure to document completion of the continuing education requirements to the satisfaction of the Division of Conditioned Air Contractors shall be grounds for disciplinary action, including denial of renewal of the license or revocation of the license.
(2) Any applicant for renewal of conditioned air contractor license is required to complete four (4) hours of continuing education per year. However, an applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for less than two (2) years must have completed four (4) hours of continuing education while licensed prior to renewal. An applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for less than one (1) year is not required to complete continuing education.
(3) Credit for continuing education hours occurs at a rate of one hour for each hour of instruction. For courses which report instructional time in "Continuing Education Units" (CEU'S), one CEU is defined as 10 hours of credit for this requirement.
(4) Continuing education courses shall be in the areas related to conditioned air contracting concerning safety, technological advances, business management, or government regulations. Such continuing education courses must be conducted by an institution of higher education; vocational technical school; trade, technical or accredited college or university; a post secondary institute under the jurisdiction of the Georgia Board of Technical and Adult Education or the equivalent agency of another state or local government; an organization consisting of members of trade, technical, or professional group; a public utility; or a conditioned air equipment manufacturer. However, courses conducted by manufacturers specifically to promote their products shall not be approved under this Rule.
(5) Applicants for renewal of conditioned air contractors license must report on the application for renewal whether or not all applicable continuing education requirements have been met. Licensees shall maintain, for at least five years after completion of the course, records confirming attendance at and completion of continuing education courses, including the following information:
(a) school, company, or organization conducting the course;
(b) title of course;
(c) location and date of the course;
(d) course outline or topics covered;
(e) hours of instruction;
(f) documentation of attendance and satisfactory completion.
(6) Licensees must provide to the division the records described in paragraph (5) of this Rule upon request.
(7) The requirements for continuing education may be waived by the Division of Conditioned Air Contractors based on documentation of hardship, disability, or illness which, to the satisfaction of the Division, prevented the applicant from completing the requirements, or under such other circumstances as the Division deems appropriate. The decision of the division as to the waiver of the requirements shall be conclusive.
(8) As provided under O.C.G.A. 43-14-6(d)(5), the continuing education requirements shall not be required of any licensed conditioned air contractor who is a registered professional engineer.

Rule 121-4-.06 Continuing Education for Master and Journeyman Plumbers

(1) Master and Journeyman Plumbers are required to complete, prior to license renewal, continuing education as described in paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of this Rule. Failure to document completion of the continuing education requirements to the satisfaction of the Division of Master and Journeyman Plumber shall be grounds for disciplinary action, including denial of renewal of the license or revocation of the license, unless waived by the Division.
(2) Beginning with the applications for renewal of licenses to practice which expire on December 31, 1996, any applicant for renewal of master or journeyman license, effective 1994-1996 renewal, is required to complete four (4) hours of continuing education per year. The division may approve applicants for renewal who have completed at least a total of 8 hours of continuing education within the 24 months prior to the expiration date. An applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for less than two (2) years must have completed four (4) hours of continuing education while licensed prior to renewal. An applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for less than one (1) year is not required to complete continuing education prior to the applicant's initial renewal.
(3) Continuing education courses shall be in the areas of plumbing installation, design, state codes, products, innovations or new techniques, tools and materials, safety, or work related legal issues. Courses for master plumbers also may be in the areas of environmental or business issues. Such continuing education courses must be conducted by an institute of higher education; vocational technical school; trade, technical, or professional organization; or institute under the State Board of Technical and Adult Education.
(4) Applicants for renewal of master or journeyman plumber license must report on the application for renewal whether or not all applicable continuing education requirements have been met. Licensees shall maintain, for at least five years after completion of the course, records confirming attendance at and completion of continuing education courses, including the following information:
(a) school or organization conducting the course;
(b) title of course;
(c) location and date of the course;
(d) course outline or topics covered;
(e) hours of instruction;
(f) documentation of attendance and satisfactory completion.
(5) Licensees must provide to the division the records described in paragraph (5) of this Rule upon request.

Rule 121-4-.07 Continuing Education for Electrical Contractors

(1) Electrical Contractors are required to complete, prior to license renewal, continuing education as described in this Rule. Failure to document completion of the continuing education requirements to the satisfaction of the Division of Electrical Contractors shall be grounds for disciplinary action, including denial of renewal of the license or revocation of the license.
(2) Any applicant for renewal of electrical contractor license is required to complete four (4) hours of continuing education per year. However, an applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for less than two (2) years, but more than 1 year must have completed four (4) hours of continuing education while licensed prior to initial renewal. An applicant for renewal who has been initially licensed for one (1) year or less is not required to complete continuing education prior to initial renewal.
(3) Credit for continuing education hours occurs at a rate of one hour for each hour of instruction.
(4) Continuing education courses shall be in the area related to electrical contracting as prescribed by the division. Such continuing education courses must be conducted by an accredited college or university; a post secondary institute under the jurisdiction of the Georgia Board of Technical and Adult Education or the equivalent agency of another state or local government; an organization consisting of members of a trade, technical, or professional group; a public utility; or an electrical equipment manufacturer. However, courses conducted by manufacturers specifically to promote their products shall not be approved under this Rule.
(5) Applicants for renewal of electrical contractor license must report on the application for renewal whether or not all applicable continuing education requirements have been met. Licensees shall maintain, for at least five years after completion of the course, records confirming attendance at and completion of continuing education courses, including the following information:
(a) school, company, or organization conducting the course;
(b) title of course;
(c) location and date of the course;
(d) course outline or topics covered;
(e) hours of instruction;
(f) documentation of attendance and satisfactory completed.
(6) Licensees must provide to the division the records described in paragraph (5) of this Rule upon request.
(7) The requirements for continuing education may be waived by the Division of Electrical Contractors based on documentation of hardship, disability, or illness which, to the satisfaction of the Division, prevented the applicant from completing the requirements, or under such other circumstances as the Division deems appropriate. The decision of the division as to the waiver of the requirements shall be conclusive.