GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 157-2 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Rule 157-2-.01 Definitions

(1) For purposes of O.C.G.A. 43-11A-9(1)a major course of study shall mean:
(a) A program granted accreditation or approval by the Commission on Accreditation for Dietetic Education (CADE) of the American Dietetic Association (ADA); or
(b) Upper division courses in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, food systems management, nutrition education or a combination thereof determined by the Board to be greater than or substantially equal to a Commission on Accreditation for Dietetic Education (CADE) accredited or approved program. The earned degree does not need to be in these areas.
(2) For purposes of O.C.G.A. 43-11A-9,"Supervise d Experience" component of dietetic practice shall consist of 900 hours of supervised practice/experience under the supervision of a state licensed practitioner or a registered dietitian. The acceptable routes of obtaining this experience include:
(a) A program formerly or currently approved or accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Dietetic Education (CADE) of the American Dietetic Association (ADA):
1. Dietetic Internship (DI);
2. Coordinated Program (CP);
3. Approved Preprofessional Practice Program (AP4).
(b) A program formerly approved by the Commission on Accreditation for Dietetic Education (CADE) of the American Dietetic Association (ADA):
1. Six (6) months/900 hours experience;
2. Three (3) years preplanned with B.S. degree.

Rule 157-2-.02 Applications for Licensure

(1) An applicant for licensure shall submit to the Board:
(a) The completed application form provided by the Board, available on the website www.sos.ga.gov/plb/diet.
(b) All applicants must submit a Secure and Verifiable document and an Affidavit of Citizenship, as defined in Code Section O.C.G.A. §§ 50-36-1 and 50-36-2.
(c) The required fee (see fee schedule).
(d) The Board may request additional verification of any requirements or credentials, as it may deem necessary.
(2) Exam applicants must submit:
(a) All applicants for licensure are required to have successfully passed an examination approved by the Board.
(b) All applicants for licensure except as provided in Board rule 157-4 shall submit to the Board an official education transcript with school seal affixed and showing degree(s) earned, area of major study and date of graduation.
(c) All applicants who have obtained their education outside of the United States and its territories must have their academic degree(s) validated by an approved credentialing agency as equivalent to the baccalaureate or master's degree conferred by a regionally accredited college or university in the United States.
(d) The Board may request additional verification of any requirements or credentials as it may deem necessary.
(3) Applications for Military Spouses and Transitioning Service Members
(a) As used in this rule, the following terms shall mean:
1. "Military" means the United States armed forces, including the National Guard.
2. "Military spouse" means a spouse of a service member or transitioning service member.
3. "Service member" means an active or reserve member of the armed forces, including the National Guard.
4. "Transitioning service member" means a member of the military on active duty status or on separation leave who is within 24 months of retirement or 12 months of separation.
(b) Effective July 1, 2017, military spouses and transitioning service members may qualify for expedited processing of the license application for any license or permit issued by the Board by showing that the applicant is a military spouse or transitioning service member and that the applicant has paid the fee and meets the requirements for a license or permit under the laws and rules for the type of license for which the applicant has applied.

Rule 157-2-.03 [Repealed]

Rule 157-2-.04 Renewal of License and Penalties, and Reinstatement. Amended

(1) Renewal of License and Fees.
(a) A license issued by the Board shall expire on March 31st of even numbered years. The license may be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee and completion of the online renewal application or a paper renewal form (contact the Board office to request one mailed to you) provided all requirements have been met.
(b) Any licensee who fails to apply for renewal by March 31st of each even numbered year may renew the license on or before June 30th of the same even numbered year by the payment of the current renewal fee plus an additional late penalty fee. See fee schedule. You must submit your verification(s) of the required continuing education hours obtained for that renewal. Practicing on or after April 1st of each even numbered year with an expired license is prohibited by law and practice during this period may result in disciplinary action for unlicensed practice.
(c) Each licensee applying for renewal must satisfactorily complete any continuing professional education requirements established by Board rule 157-5-.01.
(d) The Board may request additional verification of any requirements or credentials, as it may deem necessary.
(e) The failure to renew a license by June 30th following the March 31st even numbered renewal year expiration date shall cause the license to be administratively revoked and subject to reinstatement at the discretion of the board.
(2) Reinstatement of License.
(a) A license that is no longer active may be reinstated by the licensee upon meeting the following conditions set by the board:
1. To reinstate a license that has been lapsed for less than 2 years from the effective date of the lapse, the applicant must:
(i) submit an application for reinstatement, with the required fee
(ii) submit proof of obtainment of the thirty (30) hours of Continuing Professional Education hours obtained within two (2) years prior to the date the application for reinstatement is received in the Board office;
(iii) provide proof of current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration;
(iv) provide verification of licensure from each state official or regulatory entity issuing the license, for each state currently or previously licensed in, indicating the license status and whether it is current and in good standing or not. If the license is not in good standing, the verification must indicate any sanctions or other disciplinary actions ever taken against the license.
(v) the Board may request additional verification of any requirements or credentials, as it may deem necessary.
2. To reinstate a license that has been lapsed for 2 or more years from the effective date of the lapse, the applicant must:
(i) submit an application for reinstatement with the required fee;
(ii) submit proof of obtainment of thirty (30) hours of Continuing Professional Education hours obtained within two (2) years prior to the date the application for reinstatement is received in the Board office;
(iii) provide proof of current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration;
(iv) provide verification of licensure from each state official or regulatory entity issuing the license, for each state currently or previously licensed in, indicating the license status and whether it is current and in good standing or not. If the license is not in good standing, the verification must indicate any sanctions or other disciplinary actions ever taken against the license.
(v) the Board may request additional verification of any requirements or credentials, as it may deem necessary.
(vi) submit two (2) letters of professional reference, one must be from a person who is currently registered and in good standing with the Commission on Dietetic Registration and the other from a current or former supervisor.
(b) To reinstate a license that has been placed in Inactive license status:
1. The holder of an active license may request to place the license on inactive status by submitting a written request to the board no later than June 30th following the March 31st even numbered renewal year expiration date.
2. The holder of an inactive license that continues to practice is subject to disciplinary action for unlicensed practice.
3. An inactive license may be reinstated by application for Reinstatement as provided in Rule 157-2-.04(1) or (2) above.

Rule 157-2-.05 Fines and Penalties; Name and Address Changes

(1) Upon finding that a violation has occurred, in accordance with O.C.G.A. §§ 43-11A-15 and 43-1-19, the Board has the authority to sanction any license issued, deny a license, or refuse to renew a license.
(2) The Board may impose any or all of the following:
(a) Public or Private Reprimand;
(b) Letter of Concern;
(c) Imposition of Fine(s);
(d) Period of Probation.
(3) With respect to unlicensed practice, the board may consider each day as a separate violation.
(4) Mitigating circumstances may be taken into account in varying the sanctions subject to the Board's discretion. Mitigating circumstances shall not include failure to notify the board of an address change or failure to receive a renewal application.
(5) Name Change. A name change request shall be accompanied by a copy of the marriage certificate, court order, or other documentation of a legal name change.
(6) Change of Address. It is the duty of each licensee to maintain with the Board a current mailing address, physical address, telephone number and e-mail address. Licensees may update this information online or submit changes to the Board's administrative staff to update their record.