GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 240-2 VIOLATIONS AND FINES

Rule 240-2-.01 Inspections, Violations, Citations, and Fines

Any person or facility licensed by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers shall be required to adhere to the Board Rules, subject to inspection at any time, and required to pay to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers a fine for each of the violations listed under this chapter.

(a) A citation shall be issued by an inspector or representative of the board for violation of the Laws and/or rules and regulations, and shall be given to the licensee to pay within 30 days of the issuance of the citation unless the licensee requests in writing a hearing before the board. Such request for a hearing must be received by the board within 30 days after receiving the citation.
(b) Failure either to pay the fine or request a hearing shall result in immediate suspension of the license pending a hearing to determine whether other disciplinary or revocation action should be imposed on the licensee.
(c) The Board may order a fine against an individual license or a facility license.
(d) Repeated violations of the laws and/or rule and regulations shall result in the suspension or revocation of the personal and/or facility license issued by the Board.
(e) For inspections in facilities with multiple instances of violations, an inspector or representative of the board may issue a citation for each instance, denoting each instance on the inspection sheet.
(f) The Board may deny a license renewal or place on hold a license for unpaid fines.
(g) Citations shall be indicated on the inspection report, which is required to be posted as required by Board rules.
(h) In addition to a fine, a health and safety score/grade may be issued by an inspector or representative of the board for violation of the laws and/or rules and regulations, and shall be indicated on the inspection report if issued. The most recent inspection report is required to be posted in a facility at all times as required by Board rules.

Rule 240-2-.02 Salon/Shop Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Salon/Shop violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed and/or registered shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $150.00 (O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-14, 43-10-10) (Rule 240-4-.02)
(b) Failure to have a current salon/shop license shall result in the following fine: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $150.00 (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-11)
(c) Failure to post individual practitioners license or current copy of online verification in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(d) Failure to post current salon/shop license or current copy of online verification in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(e) Failure to have apprentice reports and/or records current. (Rule 240-5-.03)
(f) Failure of apprentice to be under direct supervision of their registered master license holder or temporarily designated master license holder. (Rule 240-5-.03, 240-2-.09, 240-4-.02)
(g) Failure to have sanitary regulations posted in an open area. An electronic copy of the rules is acceptable. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(h) Failure to post most recent inspection report in an open area as required by Board rule. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(i) Failure to have salon/shop space separated from residential space or other commercial space by tight, floor to ceiling high walls. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(j) Failure to have required signage regarding rules and regs., health requirements for service to be provided, preventing infection, skin removal, and prohibiting pets (with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code), Rule 240-4-.02)
(k) Failure to have walls, ceiling, floors, furniture, and equipment free from excessive dust, dirt, and debris and all equipment in good/safe/working condition. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(l) Failure to have proper toilet and plumbing facilities. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(m) Failure to have operating hot and cold running water. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(n) Failure to have shampoo bowls thoroughly cleansed and sanitized. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(o) Failure to have cosmetology, nail care, and esthetics implements cleansed and disinfected. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(p) Failure to comply with wet disinfection standards for all cosmetology professional implements. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(q) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all cosmetology professional implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(r) Failure to refrain from the use of any razor-type callus shavers designed and intended to cut growths of skin such as corns or calluses, eg., credo blades, razor-type callus shavers, cutters, scrapers, graters or anything that abrades or removes layers of skin. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(s) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets for soiled towels may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(t) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on clients. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(u) Failure to have wax, creams, lotions, other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary, closed container. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(v) Failure to have work stations free from stale food and soiled dishes. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(w) Failure to have garbage stored in covered, washable container. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(x) Failure to have waste and garbage removed daily. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(y) Failure of practitioners of the cosmetology or barber profession to wear appropriate clothing and/or footwear at all times during the provision of clinical services to prevent occupational exposure to potentially infectious materials. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(z) Failure to have clients wear appropriate clothing and/or footwear at all times during the provision of services to prevent exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(aa) Failure of the salon/shop owner/manager and master level trainer/supervisor to provide apprentice with current standard textbook and necessary equipment in salon to study the occupation of cosmetology, master barber, barber II, hair design, esthetics or nail care. (Rule 240-5-.01)

Rule 240-2-.03 Cosmetology School Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Cosmetology Schools violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $300.00. (O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-8, 43-10-12, 43-10-14) (Rule 240-4-.02)
(b) Failure to have current school license or current copy of online verification posted in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(c) Failure to have current copy of instructor or master license or current copy of online verification for all instructors posted in an open area. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12) ( 240-4-.02 )
(d) Failure to have sign showing "Service by Students Only". (Rule 240-4-.02)
(e) Failure to have required signage regarding rules and regs., health requirements for service to be provided, preventing infection, skin removal, and prohibiting pets (with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code), Rule 240-4-.02)
(f) Failure to have rules available in an open area on school premises. (Rule 240-4-.02 )
(g) Failure to have most recent inspection report posted in an open area and available for public view at all times as required by Board rule. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(h) Failure to have students' weekly work sheets of credit hours current and signed by the student and the instructor. (Rule 240-13-.04)
(i) Failure to have secured storage for school and student records (locking filing cabinet, desk, etc.). (Rule 240-15 - .01)
(j) Failure of students to have completed 250 hours of Level 1 training hours prior to performing clinical services on live subjects. (Rule 240-15-.02)
(k) Failure to have an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(l) Failure to have sufficient instructional tools (projectors, dry erase, chalkboards, etc.) (Rule 240-15-.01)
(m) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all cosmetology professional implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(n) Failure to have locker space for personal items for each student. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(o) Failure to have audio visual aids. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(p) Failure to have proper lighting. (Rule 240-13-.01)
(q) Failure to have proper ventilation. (Rule 240-13-.01)
(r) Failure to have walls, ceilings, floors, furniture, and equipment free from excessive dust, dirt, and debris and all equipment in good/safe/working condition. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(s) Failure to have adequate restrooms in proper working condition in accordance with 240-4-.01. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(t) Failure to have operating hot and cold running water. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(u) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on current clients. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(v) Failure to have garbage stored in a covered, washable container. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(w) Failure to remove waste/garbage daily. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(x) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(y) Failure to have work stations free from stale food and soiled dishes. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(z) Failure to have wax, creams, lotions, other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary closed containers. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(aa) Failure to wear appropriate clothing and footwear for clinical services per 240-4-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(bb) Failure to have all clients wear appropriate clothing and footwear per 240-4-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-03)
(cc) Failure to provide each student with a complete student kit. (Rule 240-15-.01 and 240-3-.01 )
(dd) Failure to have separate course of study and required supplies/equipment in hair design, barber, barber II, esthetics, and nail technology where enrollment is more than fifteen (15) students in each specialized course of study. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(ee) Failure to have one (1) licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students onsite and present with students. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-13-3)
(ff) Failure to maintain library with required books. These books may be provided electronically. (Rule 240-13-.03)
(gg) Failure to have one mannequin per student. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(hh) Failure to have one (1) whirlpool pedicure spa with fixed plumbing, (3) footbaths, and current cleaning and disinfection log. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(ii) Failure to have four (4) shampoo basins for enrollment of fifteen (15) students, one (1) additional shampoo basin for each additional fifteen (15) students or fraction thereof. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(jj) Failure to have a minimum of seven (7) chair hair dryers for students and one (1) additional chair hair dryer for each additional five (5) students. (Rule 240-15-.01 )
(kk) Failure to have work stations with mirrors for each individual student. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(ll) Failure to have four (4) manicure tables with two (2) chairs each. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(mm) Failure to have three (3) facial chairs or cushioned massage tables. (Rule 240-15-.01)
(nn) Failure to have shampoo bowls thoroughly cleansed, disinfected, and free of any hair or other debris. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(oo) Failure to have front entrance sign denoting type of school. (Rule 240-4-.02).

Rule 240-2-.04 Esthetician School Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Esthetician Schools violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $300.00. (O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-8, 43-10-12, 43-10-14) (Rule 240-4-.02)
(b) Failure to have current school license or current copy of online verification posted in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(c) Failure to have current copy of instructor or master license or current copy of online verification for all instructors posted in an open area. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-4-.02)
(d) Failure to have sign showing "Service by Students Only". (Rule 240-4-.02)
(e) Failure to have required signage for facilities regarding rules and regs., health requirements for service to be provided, preventing infection, skin removal, and prohibiting pets (with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code), Rule 240-4-.02)
(f) Failure to have rules available in an open area on school premises. (Rules 240-4-.02)
(g) Failure to have most recent inspection report posted in an open area and available for public view at all times as required by Board rule. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(h) Failure to have students' weekly work sheets of credit hours current and signed by the student and the instructor. (Rule 240-13-.04)
(i) Failure to have secured storage for school and student records (locking filing cabinet, desk, etc.). (Rule 240-16-.01)
(j) Failure of students to have completed 250 hours of Level 1 training hours prior to performing clinical services on live subjects. (Rule 240-16-.02)
(k) Failure to have an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b). (Rule 240-4-.04 and 240-16-.01)
(l) Failure to have sufficient instructional tools (projectors, dry erase, chalkboards, etc.) (Rule 240-16-.01)
(m) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all esthetic professional implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(n) Failure to have locker space for personal items for each student. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(o) Failure to have audio visual aids. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(p) Failure to have proper lighting. (Rule 240-16-.01 )
(q) Failure to have proper ventilation. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(r) Failure to have walls, ceilings, floors, furniture, and equipment free from excessive dust, dirt, and debris and all equipment in good/safe/working condition. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(s) Failure to have adequate restrooms in proper working condition in accordance with 240-4-.01. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(t) Failure to have operating hot and cold running water. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(u) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on current clients. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(v) Failure to have garbage stored in a covered, washable container. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(w) Failure to remove waste/garbage daily. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(x) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(y) Failure to have establishment free from stale food and soiled dishes. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(z) Failure to have wax, creams, lotions, other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary closed containers. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(aa) Failure to comply with wet disinfection standards and dry storage standards for all cosmetology professional implements per 240-4-.05 and 240-4-.04. (Rule 240-4-.05 and 240-4-.04)
(bb) Failure to wear appropriate clothing and footwear for clinical services per 240-4-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(cc) Failure to provide each student with a complete student kit. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(dd) Failure to have one (1) licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students or fraction thereof onsite and present with students. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-13-3
(ee) Failure to maintain library with required books. These books may be provided electronically. (Rule 240-13-.03)
(ff) Failure to have one mannequin per student. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(gg) Failure to provide one (1) head form or chart per class. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(hh) Failure to have one (1) set of facial equipment per each two (2) work stations or positions to include steamer, one magnification lamp. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(ii) Failure to have one (1) set of facial equipment per each four (4) workstations or positions to include, brushing, vacuum ionizatian, glass electrode, or high frequency galvanic or cathodic current, spray or mister. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(jj) Failure to have one (1) workstation or position with mirrors per two (2) students. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(kk) Failure to have eight (8) facial chairs or cushioned massage tables. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(ll) Failure to provide one (1) lavatory bowl for up to fifteen (15) students. (Rule 240-16-.01 )
(mm) Failure to have one (1) properly lighted make-up area. (Rule 240-16-.01)
(nn) Failure to have front entrance sign denoting type of school. (Rule 240-4-.02 )

Rule 240-2-.05 Nail Care School Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Nail Care Schools violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $300.00. (O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-8, 43-10-12, 43-10-14) (Rule 240-4-.02)
(b) Failure to have current school license or current copy of online verification posted in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(c) Failure to have current copy of instructor or master license or current copy of online verification for all instructors posted in an open area. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-4-.02)
(d) Failure to have sign showing "service by students only". (Rule 240-4-.02)
(e) Failure to have required signage for facilities regarding rules and regs., health requirements for service to be provided, preventing infection, skin removal, and prohibiting pets (with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code), Rule 240-4-.02)
(f) Failure to have rules available in an open area on school premises. (Rules 240-4-.02)
(g) Failure to have most recent inspection report posted in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(h) Failure to have students' weekly work sheets of credit hours current and signed by the student and the instructor. (Rule 240-13-.04)
(i) Failure to have secured storage for school and student records (locking filing cabinet, desk, etc.). (Rule 240-17-.01 )
(j) Failure of students to have completed 140 hours of Level 1 prior to performing clinical services on live subjects. (Rule 240-17-.02)
(k) Failure to have an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b). (Rule 240-4-.04 and 240-17.01)
(l) Failure to have sufficient instructional tools (projectors, dry erase, chalkboards, etc.) (Rule 240-17-.01)
(m) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all nail technology professional implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(n) Failure to have locker space for personal items for each student. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(o) Failure to have proper lighting. (Rule 240-13-.01)
(p) Failure to have proper ventilation. (Rule 240-13-.01, 240-3-.10 )
(q) Failure to have walls, ceilings, floors, furniture, and equipment free from excessive dust, dirt, and debris and all equipment in good/safe/working condition. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(r) Failure to have adequate restrooms in proper working condition in accordance with 240-4-.01. (Rule 240-4-.01 and 240-13-.01)
(s) Failure to have operating hot and cold running water. (Rule 240-4-.01 and 240-13-.01)
(t) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on current live subjects. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rules 240-17-.01, 240-4-.05)
(u) Failure to have garbage stored in a covered, washable container. (Rules 240-4-.03 )
(v) Failure to remove waste/garbage daily. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(w) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rules 240-4-.05)
(x) Failure to have establishment free from stale food and soiled dishes. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(y) Failure to have creams, lotions, other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary closed containers. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(z) Failure to wear appropriate clothing and footwear for clinical services per 240-4-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(aa) Failure to have all students wear appropriate clothing and footwear per 240-5-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(bb) Failure to provide all students the complete student kit. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(cc) Failure to have one (1) licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students onsite and present with students. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and Rule 240-13-.03 )
(dd) Failure to maintain library with required books. These books may be provided electronically. (Rule 240-13-.03)
(ee) Failure to have one set of mannequin hands per student. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(ff) Failure to have one (1) whirlpool pedicure spa with fixed plumbing, (3) footbaths, and current cleaning and disinfection log. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(gg) Failure to have a minimum of four (4) lavatory bowls separate from restrooms for manicuring students and one (1) additional sink for each fifteen (15) students or fraction thereof. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(hh) Failure to have fifteen (15) manicuring tables or one (1) work space with adequate light for every student. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(ii) Failure to have manicuring bowl and nail brushes for each student. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(jj) Failure to have sufficient trays for nail care supplies. (Rule 240-17.01)
(kk) Failure to provide implements for the application of artificial nails, nail wraps and nail tips. (Rule 240-17-.01)
(ll) Failure to have front entrance sign denoting type of school. (Rule 240-4-.02).

Rule 240-2-.06 Hair Design School Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Hair Designer Schools violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500.00; Expired License - $300.00. (O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-8, 43-10-12, 43-10-14) (Rule 240-4-.02)
(b) Failure to have current school license or current copy of online verification posted in an open area. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(c) Failure to have current copy of instructor or master license or current copy of online verification for all instructors posted in an open area. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-4-.02)
(d) Failure to have sign showing "service by students only". (Rule 240-4-.02)
(e) Failure to have required signage regarding rules and regs., health requirements for service to be provided, preventing infection, skin removal, and prohibiting pets (with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code), Rule 240-4-.02)
(f) Failure to have rules available in an open area on school premises. (Rules 240-4-.02 )
(g) Failure to have most recent inspection report posted in an open area as required by Board rule. (Rule 240-4-.02)
(h) Failure to have students' weekly work sheets of credit hours current and signed by the student and the instructor. (Rule 240-13-.04)
(i) Failure to have secured storage for school and student records (locking filing cabinet, desk, etc.). (Rule 240-18-.01)
(j) Failure of students to have completed 250 hours of Level 1 training hours prior to performing clinical services on live subjects. (Rule 240-18-.02)
(k) Failure to have an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(l) Failure to have sufficient instructional tools (projectors, dry erase, chalkboards, etc.) (Rule 240-18-.01)
(m) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all Hair Design professional implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(n) Failure to have locker space for personal items for each student. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(o) Failure to have audio visual aids. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(q) Failure to have proper lighting. (Rule 240-13-.01)
(r) Failure to have proper ventilation. (Rule 240-13-.01)
(s) Failure to have walls, ceilings, floors, furniture, and equipment free from excessive dust, dirt, and debris and all equipment in good/safe/working condition. (Rule 240-4-.01)
(t) Failure to have adequate restrooms in proper working condition in accordance with 240-4-.01. (Rule 240-4-.01 and 240-13.01)
(u) Failure to have operating hot and cold running water. (Rules 240-4-.01 and 240-13-.01)
(v) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on current clients. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rules 240-17-.01 and 240-4-.05)
(w) Failure to have garbage stored in a covered, washable container. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(x) Failure to remove waste/garbage daily. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(y) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(z) Failure to have establishment free from stale food and soiled dishes. (Rule 240-4-.03)
(aa) Failure to have creams, lotions, other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary closed containers. (Rule 240-4-.05)
(bb) Failure to wear appropriate clothing and footwear for clinical services per 240-5-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(cc) Failure to have all clients wear appropriate clothing and footwear per 240-5-.03 to prevent occupational exposure to potential infectious materials. (Rules 240-4-.03)
(dd) Failure to provide all students the complete student kit. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(ee) Failure to have one (1) licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students or fraction thereof onsite and present with students. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-13-3)
(ff) Failure to maintain library with required books. These books may be provided electronically. (Rule 240-13-.03)
(gg) Failure to have one mannequin per student. (Rule 240-18-.01 )
(hh) Failure to have four (4) shampoo basins for enrollment of fifteen (15) students, one additional shampoo basin for each additional fifteen (15) students or fraction thereof. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(ii) Failure to have a minimum of seven (7) hair dryers for enrollment up to fifteen (15) students and one (1) additional dryer for each additional five (5) students. (Rule 240-18-.01)
(jj) Failure to have work stations with mirrors for each individual student. (Rule 240-18-.01 )
(kk) Failure to have shampoo bowls thoroughly cleansed and disinfected and free of any hair or other debris. (Rule 240-4-.04)
(ll) Failure to have front entrance sign denoting type of school. (Rule 240-4-.02).

Rule 240-2-.07 Barber School Violations, Fines, and Fining Schedule

All rules below for Barber Schools violations, unless otherwise specified, carry a penalty of $25.00 for the first offense of any rule, $75.00 for the second offense of any rule, and $300.00 for any subsequent offense of any rule (For example; if a salon owner fails to have sanitary regulations posted and does not have the previous inspection report posted, the total fine would be $50. ($25 + $25 = $50) If during the next inspection, the same rules are violated, the fine shall be $150. ($75 + $75 = $150)).

(a) Failure to have all persons working currently licensed shall result in the following fine for each unlicensed practitioner: Unlicensed - $500; Expired License - $300 (O.C.G.A. §43-10-8, 43-10-12 and 43-10-14) (Rule 240-4-.02 )
(b) Failure to have current school license posted in a prominent place. (Rule 240-4-.02).
(c) Failure to have sign showing "service by students only." (Rule 240-14-.01).
(d) Failure to have sign prohibiting pets, with the exception of guide and assistance dogs for qualifying clients as permitted by Title 30 of the Georgia Code (Rule 240-4-.02).
(e) Failure to have current copy of instructor or master license or current copy of online verification for all instructors posted in an open area. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and Rule 240-4-.02 )
(f) Failure to have rules available in an open area on school premises. (Rule 240-4-.02 ).
(g) Failure to have most recent inspection report posted in an open area and available for public view at all times as required by Board rule. (Rule 240-4-.02 )
(h) Failure to have one (1) licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students or fraction thereof onsite and present with students. (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-12 and 240-13-3)
(i) Failure to have secured storage for school and student records (locking filing cabinet, desk, etc.). (Rule 240-14-.01 )
(j) Failure to have students' weekly work sheets of credit hours current and signed by the student and the instructor. (Rule 240-13-.04).
(k) Failure of students to have completed 280 hours of Level 1 training hours prior to performing clinical services on live subjects. (Rule 240-14-.02 ).
(l) Failure to have an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04 (Rule 240-14-.01 )
(m) Failure to comply with dry storage standards for all implements as required in 240-4-.05. (Rule 240-4-.05 )
(n) Failure to have seven (7) hair dryers for enrollment of 16 students and one (1) for each additional five (5) students. (Rule 240-14-.01).
(o) Failure to have work stations with mirrors for each individual student. (Rule 240-14-.01).
(p) Failure to have sixteen (16) mannequins and one (1) for each additional five (5) students. (Rule 240-14-.01 )
(q) Failure to have clean towels/linens in closed container or closed cabinet except towels/linens designated for use on current clients. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation. (Rules 240-14-.01 and 240-4-.05 ).
(r) Failure to have locker space for each student. (Rule 240-14-.01 ).
(s) Failure to provide basic kit for Barber students. and (Rules 240-14-.01 ).
(t) Failure to have ten (10) towels per student. (Rule 240-14-.01 ).
(u) Failure to have soiled towels/linens in a closed container. The closed containers or cabinets may contain small openings for the purpose of ventilation (Rules 240-4-.05 and 240-14-01).
(v) Failure to have sufficient instructional tools (projectors, dry erase, chalkboards, etc.) (Rule 240-14-.01 ).
(w) Failure to have audio visual aid. (Rule 240-14-.01.)
(x) Failure to have shampoo bowls thoroughly cleansed and disinfected and free of any hair or other debris. (Rule 240-4-.04 ).
(y) Failure to remove waste/garbage daily. (Rule 240-4-.03).
(z) Failure to have standard barber equipment in good working condition. (Rule 240-14-.01 ).
(aa) Failure to have creams, lotions and other cosmetics for use on clients in sanitary closed containers. (Rule 240-4-.05 ).
(bb) Failure to have adequate restrooms in proper working condition in accordance with 240-2-.01 (Rule 240-4-.01).
(cc) Failure to have proper lighting and ventilation. (Rule 240-13-.01).
(dd) Failure to maintain library with required books approved by the board. These books may be provided electronically (Rule 240-13-.03).
(ee) Failure to have front entrance sign denoting type of school. (Rule 240-4-.02).