GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 240-5 APPRENTICES

Rule 240-5-.01 Application for Apprentice License

(1) Any person at least 16 years of age desiring to train as an apprentice in a salon/shop under the direct supervision of a master who holds a current Georgia license as a master cosmetologist, master barber, hair designer, esthetician, or nail technician, and has been licensed at least thirty-six (36) months, eighteen (18) months for barbers, may make application for a four (4) year apprentice license using the form furnished by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers, and:
(a) an apprentice license issued on or after July 1, 2015 may be held for four (4) years and shall not be renewable;
(b) an apprentice holding a license issued before July 1, 2015 by the former Georgia State Board of Barbers or the former Georgia State Board of Cosmetology that has been held for two (2) years and has not been renewed shall, upon meeting all requirements, be eligible to apply for a 4-year Apprentice license;
(c) an apprentice license issued before July 1, 2015 by the former Georgia State Board of Barbers or the former Georgia State Board of Cosmetology that has already been renewed and held for four (4) or more years shall not be eligible to apply for a 4-year Apprentice license.
(2) Apprentice hours are accumulated according to the actual number of application/clock hours of performance and training in the shop or salon after being registered with the Board as an apprentice. It is the responsibility of the salon/shop owner/manager to keep an accurate record of the apprentice application/clock hours. Credit WILL NOT be allowed for any hours received prior to issuance of the apprentice license.
(3) Apprentice training shall include the curriculum required for students in the respective levels of cosmetology, master barber, barber II, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology. The curriculum and application/clock hours are defined in the Rules for Barber 240-14-.02, Barber II 240-14-.03, Cosmetology 240-15-.02 and 240-15-.03, Esthetician 240-16-.02 and 240-16-.03, Nail Care 240-17-.02 and 240-17-.03, and Hair Designer 240-18-.02 and 240-18-.03.
(4) Apprentice hours cannot be combined with school hours. Apprentice training is required for the minimum number of months and the minimum number of hours as follows:
(a) Master Cosmetologist - 18 months and 3,000 hours
(b) Master Barber - 18 months and 3,000 hours
(c) Barber II - 14 months and 2,280 hours
(d) Esthetician - 18 months and 2,000 hours Nail
(e) Hair Designer - 14 months and 2,650 hours
(f) Nail Technician - 8 months and 1,050 hours
(5) Each time the apprentice changes supervising master cosmetologist, master barber, hair designer, esthetician, nail technician, or salon/shop; a new application must be filed with the Board office.
(6) The salon/shop owner/manager must notify the Board that an apprentice is not training in the salon/shop under the master licensee and submit apprentice license and a notarized transcript of total hours accumulated by apprentice within thirty (30) days of termination of the apprenticeship. Apprentice supervisors must maintain apprentice records for a period of five (5) years.
(7) The salon/shop owner/manager and master level supervisor shall be required to supply each apprentice with the basic materials for the learning of cosmetology, master barber, barber II, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology as listed below. The master licensee training the apprentice shall comply with all rules adopted by the Board and shall instruct the apprentice in the importance of complying with all the laws and rules the Board.
(a) The basic equipment and kit for the cosmetology apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. station with mirror;
2. an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b)
3. closed container for storage of disinfected implements;
4. closed container for storage of soiled implements
5. mannequin;
6. basic combs;
7. scissors/shears and thinning shears;
8. razor with guard and disposable blades;
9. brushes;
10. rollers;
11. clips;
12. protective capes;
13. disposable neck strips, disposable or reusable gloves;
14. perm rods and end papers;
15. marcel curling iron/flat iron;
16. blow dryer;
17. consumable supplies for all hair services, such as hair shampoo, hair spray, conditioners, etc.;
18. consumable supplies for all esthetic services required in paragraph (c) for esthetics;
19. manicuring kit;
20. Current standard textbook;
21. one (1) workbook;
22. a current paper or electronic copy, of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
23. closed container for soiled or disposable towels/linens;
24. closed container/cabinet for clean towels/ linens;
(b) The basic equipment and kit for the master barber apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. basic combs;
2. brushes;
3. shears and thinning shears;
4. straight razor with changeable blades;
5. mug and shaving brush (nylon disinfect bristles that can be disinfected only) or shaving cream;
6. clippers, guards, trimmers;
7. dusting brush (nylon bristles that can be disinfected ONLY);
8. neck strips;
9. hair cloth and clip;
10. standard textbook;
11. one (1) workbook;
12. blowdryer and styling brush;
13. tweezers;
14. shampoo cape;
15. an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b)
16. a current paper or electronic copy, of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
17. ten (10) towels
18. closed container for soiled or disposable towels/linens;
19. closed container/cabinet for clean towels/ linens;
(c) The basic equipment and kit for the esthetics apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. one (1) textbook;
2. one (1) workbook;
3. a current copy of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
4. tweezers;
5. comedone extractors;
6. cleansers;
7. liquid soap;
8. skin fresheners (toners);
9. astringents;
10. acids to include one or more of the following approved peels (alpha hyrdroxy aids "AHA" 3.5pH or above):
(i) glycolic;
(ii) salicylic ("beta peel");
(iii) mandelic;
(iv) citric;
(v) lactic;
(vi) azelaic;
11. moisturizers;
12. emollient creams;
13. foundation;
14. concealer;
15. blusher;
16. lipstick;
17. powder;
18. eye shadow;
19. mascara;
20. eyeliners;
21. eyebrow pencils;
22. eyelashes and adhesives;
23. professional pencil sharpener;
24. disposable sponges and applicators;
25. cotton swab;
26. Round cotton pads;
27. rectangular rolled cotton;
28. cotton balls;
29. wooden spatula;
30. muslin strips;
31. disposable gloves;
(d) The basic equipment and kit for the nail technician apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. nail station and chair with adequate light;
2. proper paraffin wax machine and paraffin wax;
3. UV gel light;
4. an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b);
5. sealed container for storage of disinfected implements;
6. supply tray;
7. finger bowl/manicuring bowl with nail brush;
8. closed container with cotton;
9. nail implements (disinfection required);
(i) steel cuticle pusher;
(ii) metal nail file;
(iii) manicure scissors;
(iv) cuticle nippers;
(v) acrylic nippers;
(vi) fingernail clipper;
(vii) toenail clipper;
(viii) spatula;
(ix) tweezers and metal tongs;
10. nail care supplies (disposable items);
(i) emery boards;
(ii) nail buffers;
(iii) orangewood or birchwood sticks;
(iv) pedicure slippers;
(v) toe separators;
11. nail polish;
(i) colored nail enamel;
(ii) base coat and top coat;
12. polish remover;
13. cuticle remover and cuticle oil;
14. hand cream;
15. mannequin hand and/or practice fingers;
16. materials for acrylic sculptured nails;
17. pedicure supplies:
(i) footbath;
(ii) antiseptic foot spray;
(iii) liquid soap;
(iv) massage lotion;
(v) foot file or paddle;
18. current standard textbook;
19. one (1) workbook;
20. a current paper or electronic copy of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
21. covered container for soiled or disposable towels/linens; also closed container/cabinet for clean towels/ linens;
(d) The basic equipment and kit for the barber II apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. Basic combs;
2. Brushes (nylon disinfectable bristles only);
3. Shears and thinning shears;
4. mug and shaving brush (nylon disinfectable bristles that can be disinfected only) or shaving cream;
5. Clippers, guards, trimmers;
6. dusting brush (nylon bristles that can be disinfected ONLY);
7. Neck strips;
8. Hair cloth and clip;
9. Standard textbook;
10. One (1) workbook;
11. Blowdryer and styling brush;
12. Tweezers;
13. Shampoo cape;
14. an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b)
15. a current paper or electronic copy, of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
16. covered container for soiled or disposable towels/linens;
17. covered closed container/cabinet for clean towels/linens;
(e) The basic equipment and kit for the hair designer apprentice shall consist of the following:
1. station with mirror;
2. an appropriate disinfection container which is in accordance with Board rule 240-4-.04(b);
3. closed container for storage of disinfected implements;
4. mannequin;
5. basic combs;
6. scissors/shears and thinning shears;
7. razor with guard and disposable blades;
8. Brushes (nylon disinfectable bristles only);
9. rollers;
10. clips
11. protective capes;
12. disposable neck strips, disposable or reusable gloves;
13. dusting brush (nylon bristles that can be disinfected ONLY);
14. perm rods and end papers;
15. marcel curling iron/flat iron;
16. blow dryer;
17. consumable supplies for all hair services, such as hair shampoo, hair spray, conditioners, etc.;
18. current standard textbook;
19. one (1) workbook;
20. a current paper or electronic copy of the laws and rules of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers;
21. covered container for soiled or disposable towels/linens;
22. closed container/cabinet for clean towels/linens;

Rule 240-5-.02 Apprentices Training in a Salon/Shop

No salon/shop shall have in training more than one apprentice for each person licensed at the master cosmetologist, master barber, hair designer esthetician or nail technician level. More than one apprentice is permissible if affirmatively shown to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers that the apprentice will be denied the opportunity of learning the profession of cosmetology, master Barber, barber II, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology provided that the burden of proof shall be upon the person or persons seeking to show that the opportunity to learn the profession has been denied.

(1) Each apprentice shall be trained and supervised by one licensee as shown on the apprentice's registration filed with the Board by the salon/shop owner/manager. A licensee shall have an apprentice according to the level of registration as follows:
(a) Master cosmetologist - hair design apprentice, nail tech apprentice, esthetician apprentice, or master cosmetologist apprentice;
(b) Master Barber - master barber apprentice barber II apprentice;
(c) Hair designer - hair design apprentice;
(d) Esthetician - esthetics apprentice;
(e) Nail Tecnician - Nail Tech Apprentice.
(2) The salon/shop owner or the supervising Master may temporarily designate, by written and signed statement, a qualified master to train and supervise the apprentice in the absence of the master licensee who is registered with the Board as being the master responsible for training the apprentice. The temporarily designated master shall have at least 36 months experience and shall have held a certificate of a master for at least 36 months as required by O.C.G.A. §43-10-14.
(3) The salon/shop has the burden of proof for establishing that circumstances exist which require assigning an apprentice to another licensed and qualified master on a temporary basis shall be deemed to have been met if the training master is absent from the salon/shop for a limited duration of time. Such time periods include, but are not limited to, illness, jury duty, military leave, absences for personal business or travel, vacation, temporary leave of absence from work, or a leave under the federal "Family and Medical Leave Act".
(4) Any apprentice training hours obtained at a location other than the salon/shop registered with the Board as the apprentice's training salon/shop shall not be counted toward the number of hours required for examination and licensing.

Rule 240-5-.03 Apprentice Records Requirement for Salon/Shop and Master

(1) Apprentice Records are required for all Salon/Shop or supervising Master as follows:
(a) An accurate weekly work sheet completed and signed either in ink or by electronic signature by the apprentice, the salon/shop owner/manager, and the training master shall be kept for each apprentice indicating the number of hours of training in each subject. This work sheet shall be sub-totaled weekly. Work sheets shall be subject to review and available to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers for inspection at any time.
(b) Weekly work sheets shall be submitted to the Board on quarterly basis in January, April, June, and September.
(c) Salon/shop owners/managers must maintain records on each apprentice for a period of five (5) years. These records must be accurate, complete, and available to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers for inspection at all times.
(d) Should an apprentice change salon/shop or master cosmetologist, hair designer, master barber, barber II, esthetician, or nail technician, a notarized transcript of total hours accumulated shall be signed by both the salon/shop owner/manager and the master cosmetologist, hair designer, master barber, barber II, esthetician, or nail technician and submitted to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers within thirty (30) days of the change.
(e) Certification of completed training shall be included with the examination application.