GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 250-5 PERSONAL LICENSURE

Rule 250-5-.01 General Requirements: Embalmer

(1) An applicant for licensure as an embalmer must satisfy the following requirements:
(a) be at least 18 years of age at the time of application;
(b) be of good moral character; and
(c) at minimum, have graduated from a high school or have earned a general education development certificate.
(2) An applicant for licensure as an embalmer shall make application to the Board on forms approved by the Board, shall submit the appropriate fee, and shall provide the following:
(a) proof of graduation from a college of funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education or other college specifically approved by the Board.
(b) proof of 3,120 hours of service as an apprentice as specified in Rule 250-4-.02 and in O.C.G.A. Section 43-18-50; and
(c) an affidavit which states that the apprentice assisted in embalming at least fifty (50) bodies and which specifies the names and dates of death.
(3) An application for licensure as an embalmer shall be reviewed by the Board only after it is complete. This application shall ask questions regarding the applicant's conviction of a felony or misdemeanor and violations or sentences under the First Offender Act. A completed application must be submitted at least fifteen (15) days prior to a Board meeting, and the Board shall accept or reject each application by majority vote.

Rule 250-5-.02 Licensure by Examination: Embalmer

(1) An applicant for licensure as an embalmer must attain a passing score, as determined by the Board, on the Funeral Service Science Examination of the National Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. Any examination fee which may be required shall be paid directly to the Conference. An individual may take the Funeral Service Science and Funeral Service Arts Examinations of the National Conference on the same date.
(2) Veterans who qualify for Veterans Preference Points may have additional points added to their score. Information on points may be obtained from the Board office.
(3) An applicant for licensure as an embalmer must direct the National Conference to provide the Board with certification that the applicant passed the Funeral Service Science Examination.

Rule 250-5-.03 Licensure by Reciprocity or Endorsement: Embalmer

The Board may consider licensure by reciprocity without the requirement of taking the National Examination and upon payment of the appropriate fee, to any person licensed as an embalmer by another State, territory, or country, or by the District of Columbia.

(1) An applicant for licensure as an embalmer by reciprocity must successfully pass an examination approved by the Board which tests knowledge of the laws of this state relating to funeral directors and:
(a) must satisfy the requirements listed in Rule 250-5-.01 above; or
(b) must hold a valid embalmer's license in a jurisdiction whose requirements for licensure as an embalmer are substantially equal to the requirements for licensure as an embalmer in Georgia; and
(c) an embalmer licensed by endorsement cannot be issued a license on the basis of another reciprocal or endorsement license.
(d) An applicant who cannot meet the requirements of (a) or (b) in this rule may be issued a license as an embalmer by endorsement upon submission of documentation from an employer attesting that the applicant has been engaged in the active practice of funeral service as a licensed embalmer and funeral director for a minimum of three (3) years immediately preceding the submission of an application for licensure in Georgia, in accordance with the provisions of O.C.G.A. § 43-18-42(a)(2). For the purposes of this rule,"immediately preceding" shall mean that the applicant must submit the appropriate application to the Board office within six (6) months of leaving the state in which he or she has been actively engaged in the active practice of funeral service.

Rule 250-5-.04 General Requirements: Funeral Director

(1) An applicant for licensure as a funeral director must satisfy the following requirements:
(a) be at least 18 years of age at the time of application;
(b) be of good moral character; and
(c) at minimum, have graduated from a high school or have earned a general education development certificate.
(2) An applicant for licensure as a funeral director shall make application to the Board on forms approved by the Board, shall submit the appropriate fee, and shall provide the following:
(a) proof of valid licensure as an embalmer in the State of Georgia; and
(b) an affidavit stating that, as an apprentice, the applicant assisted with at least fifty (50) funerals; the affidavit shall also specify the names of the deceased and dates of death.
(3) An application for licensure as a funeral director shall be reviewed by the Board only after it is complete. This application shall ask questions regarding the applicant's conviction for a felony or misdemeanor and violations or sentences under the First Offender Act. A completed application must be submitted at least fifteen (15) days prior to a Board meeting, and the Board shall accept or reject each application by majority vote.

Rule 250-5-.05 Licensure by Examination: Funeral Director

(1) An applicant for licensure as a funeral director must attain a passing score, as determined by the Board, on both the Funeral Service Science and Funeral Service Arts Examinations of the National Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. Any examination fee which may be required shall be paid directly to the Conference. An individual may take the Funeral Service Science and Funeral Service Arts Examination of the National Conference on the same date.
(2) An applicant for licensure must direct The Conference to provide the Board with certification that the applicant passed both examinations.
(3) An applicant for a funeral director license on or after January 1, 1991, must also pass the Board-approved Jurisprudence Examination which covers state laws regarding funeral directing.

Rule 250-5-.06 Licensure by Endorsement: Funeral Director

(1) The Board may, upon payment of the appropriate fee and without the requirement of taking the national examination, issue a funeral director license to any person licensed as a funeral director by another State territory, or country, or by the District of Columbia. An applicant for licensure as a funeral director by endorsement must pass the Board-approved Jurisprudence Examination on Georgia law regarding funeral directing on or after January 1, 1991, and either:
(a) satisfy the requirements listed in Rule 250-5-.04 above, or
(b) hold a valid funeral director's license in a jurisdiction whose requirements for licensure as a funeral director are substantially equal to the requirements for licensure as a funeral director in Georgia.
(2) No embalmer or funeral director license issued by endorsement may be issued on the basis of another reciprocal or endorsement license.
(3) An applicant who cannot meet the requirements of (1)(a) or (1)(b) in this rule may be issued a license as a funeral director by endorsement upon submission of documentation from an employer attesting that the applicant has been engaged in the active practice of funeral service as a licensed embalmer and funeral director for a minimum of three (3) years immediately preceding the submission of an application for licensure in Georgia, in accordance with the provisions of O.C.G.A. § 43-18-42(a)(2). For the purposes of this rule,"immediately preceding" shall mean that the applicant must submit the appropriate application to the Board office within six (6) months of leaving the state in which he or she has been actively engaged in the active practice of funeral service.

Rule 250-5-.07 Display of Licenses

(1) Each person licensed by the Board must display their license conspicuously in the principal funeral establishment where employed.
(2) A trade embalmer or funeral director who works in more than one establishment must display a duplicate photocopy of their license in each establishment or crematory in which the trade embalmer works.

Rule 250-5-.08 Transferability of License

An embalmer or funeral director license is neither transferable nor assignable to any other individual.

Rule 250-5-.09 Renewal

(1) An initial embalmer or funeral director license shall become effective upon issuance of a license number by the Board.
(2) Each embalmer or funeral director license expires on March 31 of even-numbered years. Licenses may be renewed with the submission of a renewal application plus renewal fee prior to expiration. If you are licensed as an embalmer and funeral director, you must renew your embalmer's license in order to renew your funeral director's license.
(3) During the period between April 1 and April 30 immediately following the expiration of a license, the license may be renewed upon submission of a penalty fee in addition to the regular renewal fee and application.

Rule 250-5-.10 Revocation and Reinstatement - Embalmer; Funeral Director

(1) Failure to renew an embalmer or funeral director license prior to May 1 of the renewal year shall have the same effect as revocation. Any consideration for license reinstatement shall be at the discretion of the Board and shall require submission of a reinstatement application and reinstatement fee.
(2) The Board in its discretion may reinstate a funeral director license upon receipt of an application, evidence of completion of ten (10) hours of approved continuing education for any applicant who is under 65 years of age and appropriate fees as noted on the Fee Schedule. Additionally, a person applying for reinstatement more than two (2) years after the expiration date of the license shall be required to retake and pass the Board-approved Jurisprudence Examination on Georgia law regarding funeral directing.

Rule 250-5-.11 Inactive Status

A person must hold a current Georgia funeral director or embalmer license to apply for inactive status; and
(a) A funeral director or embalmer who holds a current license and who will not practice funeral directing or embalming in Georgia may apply for inactive status by completing an Application for Inactive Status and submitting the appropriate fee (see Fee Schedule) to the Board. Once the license is in Inactive Status, an embalmer or funeral director shall not practice embalming or funeral directing in the State of Georgia while that license is on Inactive Status; and
(b) To request that a license be placed on Inactive Status, the license must be in good standing and the licensee must show that they have attained the continuing education hours which will be required at their next renewal; and
(c) A funeral director or embalmer who wishes to reactivate an Inactive Status license must submit to the Board an Application to Reactivate, appropriate fee, and documentation of continuing education:
1. If the request to reactivate is received more than two (2) years but less than four (4) years from the date on which Inactive Status was approved, the licensee must document five (5) continuing education hours;
2. If the request to reactivate is received four (4) or more years after the date on which Inactive Status was approved, the licensee must document ten (10) continuing education hours and take and pass the State Laws and Rules Examination, notwithstanding the fact that they may have passed the Laws and Rules Examination on a prior date.

Rule 250-5-.12 Continuing Education Requirements; Provider Approval

(1) Ten (10) hours of continuing education are required biennially (every two (2) years) to renew an embalmer or funeral director license. At the time of renewal, each licensee shall submit an Application for License Renewal and a report in writing, under oath, noting the number of hours of continuing education completed during the two (2) years preceding the renewal.
(2) All licensees must obtain ten (10) hours whether they hold one or two licenses.
(3) Funeral directors or embalmers who are licensed by the Board within the second year of the renewal cycle (after April 1 of the odd numbered year) will not be required to submit continuing education hours for their first license renewal.
(4) Hardship, Disability and Age Requirement. The continuing education requirement shall be waived for persons who hold an Inactive Status license or for licensed individuals age 65 or older; and
(a) The Board may waive the continuing education requirement in cases of hardship, disability, illness, or under such circumstances as the Board deems appropriate. The waiver must be requested in writing to the Board and must be accompanied by acceptable documentation.
(5) The Board shall be authorized to approve courses offered by educational institutions, specialty societies, professional or other organizations, or government agencies upon submission of an application and non-refundable fee. For the purpose of this rule, 'government agencies' means federal, state or local government agencies, public school systems and licensed hospitals.
(6) The Board may, in its discretion, accept continuing education hours that are approved in another state. The Board may require the licensee to submit information concerning the course(s), and proof of successful completion.
(7) Board Approved Providers. Continuing education hours may be obtained by participating in activities sponsored by Board-Approved Providers. Board-Approved Providers shall offer programs only in the topic areas for which they have been approved. The provider shall certify the number of clock hours of educational content in each continuing education activity.
(a) To qualify for initial approval, to renew approval or to qualify for approval in additional topic areas, a provider must submit to the Board:
1. a Funeral Service Board-Approved Continuing Education Provider Application and non-refundable fee (See fee schedule); and
2. a description of the topic areas in which the provider plans to sponsor continuing education activities; and
3. the names of all instructors currently offering continuing education activities, a description of the topic areas in which the instructor is qualified to teach along with a resume or other evidence demonstrating that each instructor is qualified in the identified topic area; and
4. program outlines, including instructors, objectives, schedules and instructional material.
(b) Board-Approved Provider status shall expire March 31 of even numbered years. The Provider must submit a new application and non-refundable application fee for the next renewal cycle. The Board retains the right to monitor continuing education programs sponsored by Board-Approved Providers and will withdraw approval from providers who do not maintain Board standards.
(8) Board Approved Instructors. Continuing Education Instructors must meet minimum qualifications for instructor certification.
(a) In order to qualify for initial Board approval or to renew Board approval, a provider must submit the following to the Board:
1. a Funeral Service Board Approved Instructor Application and non-refundable fee (see fee schedule); and
2. a description of the topic areas in which the instructor is qualified to teach along with a resume or other evidence demonstrating that each instructor is qualified in the identified topic area; and
3. evidence of a minimum of five (5) years supervisory experience in the Funeral Service Profession; or
4. evidence of any other experience or education which may qualify applicant for certification upon the discretion of the Board.
(b) Board-approved instructor status shall expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The instructor must submit a new application and non-refundable fee for the next renewal cycle.
(9) Reporting and Documentation. Each licensee shall maintain documentation of their continuing education activities.
(a) Each licensee shall attest, on the biennial license renewal application, that the licensee has satisfied the continuing education requirements. Documentation of these activities shall be retained for three (3) years by the licensee and shall be provided to the Board only upon the Board's request. False attestation of satisfaction of the continuing education requirements on a renewal application may subject the licensee to disciplinary action, including license revocation; and
(b) The Board will audit a fixed percentage of the renewal applications. Licensees whose applications are audited will be required to provide documentation of having met the continuing education requirements; and
(c) An audited licensee who fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to in the renewal application shall not have their license renewed. In the event the person seeks a new license, the Board may in its discretion review and take into consideration all files, including investigative files and/or reports, related to the person and/or establishment.

Rule 250-5-.13 Military Spouses and Transitioning Service Members

(1) As used in this rule, the following terms shall mean:
(a) "Board" means the State Board of Funeral Service.
(b) "License" means any license issued by the State Board of Funeral Service.
(c) "Military" means the United States armed forces, including the National Guard.
(d) "Military spouse" means a spouse of a service member or transitioning service member.
(e) "Service member" means an active or reserve member of the armed forces, including the National Guard.
(f) "Transitioning service member" means a member of the military on active duty status or on separation leave who is within twenty-four (24) months of retirement or twelve (12) months of separation.
(2) Effective July 1, 2017, military spouses and transitioning service members may qualify for expedited processing of the license application by showing that the applicant is a military spouse or transitioning service member and that the applicant has paid the fee and meets the requirements for a license under the law and rules for the type of license for which the applicant has applied.