GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Subject 40-13-3 INTRASTATE HEALTH REQUIREMENTS

Rule 40-13-3-.01 Definitions

(1) "Cattle" means bovine animals and bison.
(2) "Certificate of Veterinary Inspection" means an official and legible record complying with the requirements of the Georgia Department of Agriculture issued by an accredited veterinarian on an official form adopted by the state of origin or the equivalent official form of the United States Department of Agriculture.
(3) "Cervid" means farmed deer and any species of deer, elk, moose or other Artiodactyla maintained in confinement.
(4) "Equine" means horses, mules, asses, and any other members of the Equidae species.
(5) "Petting Zoo" means a collection of animals for the purpose of allowing physical contact with the public.

Rule 40-13-3-.02 Bovine

There are no brucellosis or tuberculosis test requirements for intrastate movement of Georgia cattle.

Rule 40-13-3-.03 Swine

(1) Georgia breeding swine, four months of age or older, being sold, offered for sale, traded, given away, loaned or leased, must test negative to an official brucellosis test and an official pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to sale or movement. The following are exempt from the brucellosis and/or pseudorabies test requirements:
(a) Swine originating directly from a validated brucellosis free herd are exempt from the brucellosis test requirements;
(b) Swine originating directly from a qualified pseudorabies free herd are exempt from the pseudorabies test requirement;
(c) Barrows are exempt from the brucellosis test requirements;
(d) Swine moving directly to a state or federally approved slaughter establishment; and
(e) Swine moving directly to an approved auction market or buying station.
(2) Georgia feral swine of any age moving within Georgia must test negative to an official brucellosis test and an official pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to movement, originate from a validated brucellosis free herd and a qualified pseudorabies free herd, or be moved directly to a state or federally approved slaughter establishment, to an approved hunting preserve, or to an approved swine slaughter sale.
(3) Georgia miniature swine, four months of age or older, being sold, offered for sale, traded, given away, loaned or leased, must test negative to an official brucellosis test and an official pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to movement or originate from a validated brucellosis free herd and a qualified pseudorabies free herd. Barrows are exempt from the brucellosis and pseudorabies test requirements.
(4) The burden of satisfying all of the above brucellosis and pseudorabies test requirements shall be upon the person who sells, offers for sale, trades, gives away, loans or leases any test eligible swine.

Rule 40-13-3-.04 Equine

(1) Official Equine Infectious Anemia Tests: Only tests which have been conducted in a State, Federal, or commercial laboratory approved by the Georgia State Veterinarian and the United States Department of Agriculture will be considered official tests.
(2) Official Equine Infectious Anemia Test Record: Only the original laboratory issued test record will be considered an official test record. The State Veterinarian will make the final determination as to the acceptability of any equine infectious anemia test record.
(3) Nursing foals less than six months of age when accompanied by their dam which has a current negative test for equine infectious anemia are exempt from the equine infectious anemia test requirements.
(4) Change of Ownership: Georgia equine being sold, offered for sale, traded, given away, loaned, or leased must test negative to an official test for equine infectious anemia within the previous 12 months and be accompanied by the original test record issued by the laboratory. Untested equine may move directly to an approved sale where a sample will be collected prior to the sale. The seller will be responsible for the cost of the test and must reimburse the buyer the full price of the animal if such test is positive.
(5) Assembly: Equine assembled for exhibitions, rodeos, horse shows, trail rides, or other gatherings with horses of different ownership must have a record of an official negative test for equine infectious anemia within the previous 12 months. The original laboratory test record or a legible copy will be acceptable for the purpose of assembly.
(6) Breeding: Any stallion or mare offered for reproductive services must have record of an official negative test for equine infectious anemia within the previous 12 months. The original laboratory test record or a legible copy will be acceptable for the purpose of breeding.
(7) Stables: Equine located at premises that provide boarding, holding, training, breeding, riding, pulling vehicles or similar purposes must have a record of an official test for equine infectious anemia within the previous 12 months. The original laboratory test record or a legible copy will be acceptable.
(8) Quarantine: Any equine not meeting the above requirements may be quarantined and returned to the farm of origin or a premises approved by the State Veterinarian until the requirements have been met.
(9) The burden of satisfying the above equine infectious anemia test requirements shall be upon the person who sells, offers for sale, trades, gives away, loans, leases or commingles any test-eligible equine.

Rule 40-13-3-.05 Ovine

(1) All sheep, except wethers, moving intrastate for the purpose of change of ownership, including loan, lease or given away, must be identified with official USDA identification.
(2) Any person applying official identification must keep the following records for a period of five (5) years:
(a) Name and address of the flock of origin;
(b) Name and address of the recipient flock;
(c) Age, breed and sex of the sheep identified; and
(d) The identification number applied.

Rule 40-13-3-.06 Caprine

(1) All goats, except wethers, commingled with sheep and moved intrastate for the purpose of change of ownership, including loan, lease or given away, must be identified with official USDA identification.
(2) Any person applying official identification must keep the following records for a period of five (5) years:
(a) Name and address of the flock/herd of origin;
(b) Name and address of the recipient flock/herd;
(c) Age, breed and sex of the goat identified; and
(d) The identification number applied.

Rule 40-13-3-.07 Cervids

(1) Georgia cervids 12 months of age or older being sold, offered for sale, traded, given away, loaned or leased, must test negative to an official brucellosis test within 30 days prior to sale or movement. The following are exempt from the brucellosis test requirements:
(a) Cervids originating from a certified brucellosis free herd; or
(b) Cervids consigned directly to a state or federally approved slaughter establishment; or
(c) Cervids originating from an institution that is accredited by the American Association of Zoological Parks and Aquariums (AAZPA) and consigned to another accredited member facility in Georgia; or
(d) White-tailed deer indigenous to Georgia.
(2) Georgia cervids of any age being sold, offered for sale, traded, given away, loaned or leased, must test negative to an official tuberculosis test within ninety (90) days prior to sale or movement. The following are exempt from the tuberculosis test requirements:
(a) Cervids originating from an accredited tuberculosis free herd; or
(b) Cervids less than 12 months of age originating from and born into a qualified or monitored herd and not exposed to other cervids of a lower status; or
(c) Cervids originating from an institution that is accredited by the American Association of Zoological Parks and Aquariums (AAZPA) and consigned to another accredited member facility in Georgia; or
(d) Cervids consigned directly to a state or federally approved slaughter establishment; or
(e) White-tailed deer indigenous to Georgia.
(3) The burden of satisfying the above brucellosis and tuberculosis test requirements shall be upon the person who sells, offers for sale, trades, gives away, loans or leases any test eligible cervid.

Rule 40-13-3-.07.1 Repealed

Rule 40-13-3-.08 Livestock Exhibition

(1) All exhibitions of livestock except equine exhibitions are required to have a permit. The management is responsible for obtaining the exhibition permit from the State Veterinarian at least twenty-one (21) days prior to the opening of the exhibition. For additional information, call the State Veterinarian's office at: 404-656-3671.
(2) All livestock entering Georgia for exhibition must meet Georgia's interstate movement health requirements.
(3) No livestock will be allowed entry into the exhibition facility without the proper health records and required tests. A Georgia Department of Agriculture representative may be present to examine all livestock.
(4) Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI).
(a) All animals being exhibited in any type of livestock show must be individually identified and accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must show proof of the requirements outlined in these regulations for the appropriate species. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must be issued within 30 days prior to exhibition with the following exceptions:
1. For Georgia cattle, swine, goats, and exotic animals exhibiting in Georgia 4-H and FFA shows, the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and required tests shall be valid for four months.
2. For Georgia sheep exhibiting in Georgia 4-H and FFA shows, a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must be issued by an accredited veterinarian and must be updated and signed every 30 days during the show season by an accredited veterinarian, county extension agent, or vocational agriculture teacher. The examiner must sign and record the following statement on the certificate: "To the best of my knowledge, the animals being exhibited are free from any clinical signs consistent with those of footrot, scabies, soremouth, cutaneous fungal lesions, or any other infectious or communicable disease."
(b) The following are exempt from the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection requirements as specified in this chapter:
1. Market cattle and market swine will not require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or any testing provided no breeding livestock are on the exhibition premises. All market animals must either be consigned directly to slaughter with no animals from the exhibition returning to a farm, or be consigned to a terminal market show with confinement at the original show facility until movement. If any market animals will be returning to a farm or if show management requires such, all animals on the show grounds must have proper Certificates of Veterinary Inspection and must satisfy the appropriate test requirements described in this chapter.
2. Georgia equine participating in Georgia equine events will not require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. (See complete equine requirements referenced later in this section.)
(5) Cattle.
(a) Brucellosis Requirements:
1. Georgia cattle have no brucellosis test requirement for exhibition. However, the cattle must originate from herds that are not under quarantine for brucellosis. Steers may move unrestricted from brucellosis quarantined herds.
(b) Tuberculosis Requirements:
1. Georgia cattle have no tuberculosis test requirement for exhibition. However, the cattle must originate from herds that are not under quarantine for tuberculosis.
(c) All rodeo cattle from Georgia require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued within 30 days of exhibition. All rodeo bulls must have a negative brucellosis and a negative tuberculosis test within 12 months prior to exhibition.
(6) Swine.
(a) Breeding swine:
1. Georgia breeding swine four months of age and older must have a negative brucellosis and a negative pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to exhibition with the following exception:
2. Swine originating from a validated brucellosis free herd and a qualified pseudorabies free herd. Validation and qualification numbers and the date of the most recent herd test must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
(b) Market Swine:
1. Gilts must have a negative brucellosis and a negative pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to exhibition unless originating from a validated brucellosis free herd and a qualified pseudorabies free herd. Validation and qualification numbers and the date of the most recent herd test must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
2. Barrows must have a negative pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to exhibition unless originating from a qualified pseudorabies free herd. Qualification number and the date of the most recent herd test must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
3. Market swine may be exempt from the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and the test requirements if they qualify under Section 40-13-3-.06(4), "Certificate of Veterinary Inspection".
(7) Sheep.
(a) Georgia sheep must have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued within 30 days prior to the exhibition with official USDA identification and the following statement recorded: "The flock of origin is free from footrot, scabies, contagious ecthyma and any cutaneous fungal disease." Wethers do not require official USDA identification.
(b) For Georgia 4-H and FFA sheep exhibition requirements, see the above "Certificate of Veterinary Inspection" part of this section.
(c) All sheep may be inspected at the show premises for footrot, scabies, contagious ecthyma (soremouth) and cutaneous fungal diseases. Those with lesions must be removed from the show facility.
(8) Goats.
(a) Georgia goats must have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued within 30 days prior to exhibition and be in compliance with USDA identification rules. The following statement must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: "The herd of origin is free from footrot, scabies, contagious ecthyma and any cutaneous fungal disease."
(9) Equine.
(a) Georgia equine does not require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection for exhibition.
(b) All Georgia equine exhibited must have a negative equine infectious anemia test within the previous 12 months. The original laboratory issued test record or a legible copy must accompany the animal. Nursing foals less than six (6) months of age are exempt from this test requirement when accompanied by their dam which has a current negative test for equine infectious anemia.
(10) Cervids.
(a) Brucellosis Requirements:
1. Georgia cervids 12 months of age or older must have a negative brucellosis test within thirty (30) days prior to the exhibition with the following exceptions:
(i) Cervids originating from a certified brucellosis free herd. Certification number and the date of the most recent herd test must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection;
(ii) Cervids 12 months of age or older originating from monitored herds may be exhibited following a negative brucellosis test within ninety (90) days prior to exhibition;
(iii) Castrated cervids.
(b) Tuberculosis Requirements:
1. All Georgia cervids must have a negative tuberculosis test within ninety (90) days of exhibition with the following exceptions:
(i) Cervids originating from an accredited herd. Accreditation number and date of the most recent herd test must be recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
(ii) Cervids less than 12 months of age originating from and born into a qualified or monitored herd and not exposed to other cervids of a lower status.
(11) Llamas and Alpacas.
(a) Georgia llamas and alpacas must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and be identified by a USDA approved metal ear tag, unique and individual tattoo, notarized photograph, or an electronic identification device (microchip). If electronic identification is used the consignee is responsible for providing the appropriate reading device for verification.

Rule 40-13-3-.09 Petting Zoos

(1) Cattle, goats, and cervids six (6) months of age or older must test negative for brucellosis and tuberculosis within ninety (90) days following the initial establishment of a petting zoo. These animals must have a negative test for brucellosis and tuberculosis before allowing initial contact with the public. Castrated males are exempt from the brucellosis test requirement.
(2) Swine four months of age or older must test negative for brucellosis and pseudorabies after thirty (30) days following the initial establishment of a petting zoo. These animals must have a negative test for brucellosis and pseudorabies before allowing initial contact with the public. Castrated males are exempt from the brucellosis test requirement.
(3) Equine from a petting zoo that are located on or moved to premises where equine of different ownership are present must have a record of an official negative test for equine infectious anemia within the previous 12 months. The original laboratory test record or a legible copy will be acceptable.
(4) Elephants and monkeys must test negative to a United States Department of Agriculture recommended tuberculosis test annually.
(5) Any of the above species of animals added to a petting zoo after the initial establishment of the petting zoo will be required to be isolated and tested for the species appropriate diseases as outlined above.
(6) Annual testing for the diseases listed in this section is recommended for petting zoos.

Rule 40-13-3-.10 Exotic and Pet Birds Exhibitions and Sales

(1) All exotic and pet bird exhibitions and sales are required to have a permit. The exhibition or sale management is responsible for obtaining the permit by contacting the State Veterinarian at least twenty-one (21) days prior to the opening of the exhibition of sale. For additional information, call the State Veterinarian's ofice at 404-656-3671.
(2) All exotic and pet birds entering Georgia for exhibition or sale are required to have a permit number issued by the Georgia Department of Agriculture and must meet Georgia's interstate movement health requirements. Permit numbers may be obtained by calling the Animal Health Section at 404-656-3667.

Rule 40-13-3-.11 Penalty for Violation

Any person violating the provisions of this chapter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Rule 40-13-3-.12 Repealed

Rule 40-13-3-.13 Repealed