GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 500-2 EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Rule 500-2-.01 Requirements for Examination and Licensure

Any person desiring to take the examination and be licensed to practice podiatry in this State shall meet the following qualifications and requirements.

(a) Qualifications for Examination.
1. Has attained the age of 21 years;
2. Be a graduate of an accredited college of podiatric medicine approved by the Board;
3. Holds a doctoral degree or its equivalent;
4. File a completed application for examination with required attachments with the Board 45 days prior to the examination date. The following items shall be submitted with the application:
(i) Certificate of Podiatric education;
(ii) Photo;
(iii) Proof of completion of a minimum one year's residency in podiatric medicine and surgery in a program based at a hospital approved by the American Podiatric Medical Association and the Board or a letter dated within 90 days of the expected date of completion of residency from the Director of Training, Registrar; or Head of the Department on official letterhead documenting the date on which the applicant is expected to complete the one year's residency. License will not be issued until Certificate of Residency is received and exams passed.
(iv) All applicants for licensure, after January 1, 1999, shall submit proof of having successfully passed the PMLexis administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners with a passing score determined by the Board;
(v) Proof of having passed the PMLexis shall be a certified copy of the applicant's transcript of scores from the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners; and
(vi) Required Fees.
(b) Licensure Requirements. Any Person desiring to be licensed to practice podiatry in this State must have satisfactorily passed an examination approved by the Board.
(c) The Americans with Disabilities Act. The Board will provide reasonable accommodation to a qualified applicant with a disability in accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act. The request for an accommodation by an individual with a disability must be made in writing and received in the Board office by the application deadline along with the appropriate documentation, as indicated in the Request for Disability Accommodation Guidelines.

Rule 500-2-.02 Reinstatement of Licensure

(1) Reinstatement of a revoked or lapsed license is within the discretion of the Board.
(2) An applicant for reinstatement for a revoked or lapsed license must submit a completed application provided by the Board, payment of the required fee, and the following:
(a) A signed letter of explanation from the applicant and supporting documents that explain the reasons the license was lapsed and/or revoked;
(b) A certification of licensure from any other state or states in which the applicant is licensed showing the current status of the license and any action taken against the license;
(c) A resume showing the applicant's professional experience since the Georgia license expired;
(d) Payment of all required renewal and delinquency fees; and,
(e) Proof of completion of the continuing education requirements as stated in the Board rules.
(3) The Board, in its discretion, may impose any remedial or additional requirements for applicants who have previously engaged in the practice of podiatric medicine and who have not practiced for a period greater than thirty (30) consecutive months as approved by the Board.
(4) The Board may deny reinstatement for failure to demonstrate current knowledge, skill and proficiency in the practice of podiatric medicine or for being mentally or physically unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety, or for any ground stated in O.C.G.A. § 43-35-16 and any other applicable state or federal law.

Rule 500-2-.03 Repealed

Rule 500-2-.04 Repealed

Rule 500-2-.05 Repealed

Rule 500-2-.06 Repealed