GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Subject 513-13-2 ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Rule 513-13-2-.01 Application for Membership

(1) Proof of date of birth must be established at the time of applying for membership, as referred to in GA. Code 47-16-40, Paragraphs 3 and 6.
(2) An applicant for membership must pay all dues for prior service within 12 months after being accepted as a member, as referred to in Ga. Code 47-16-40, Paragraph 5.
(3) No receipts for dues will be mailed to members, unless requested with self addressed stamped envelope.

Rule 513-13-2-.02 Reinstatement to Active Membership

Any member of said retirement fund who is suspended for failure to pay dues, must, in addition to paying dues in default, with interest thereon at 8% as provided in Ga. Code 47-16-44, Paragraph c, also pay a reinstatement penalty of $50.00.

Rule 513-13-2-.03 Non-Payment of Dues

In the event a member does not pay his monthly dues by the 10th of the following month, as required under Ga. Code 47-16-43 paragraph 2, he shall be notified of such delinquency by Certified Mail with Return Receipt by the end of the month and if not paid within 30 days after such notice, he is to be suspended from membership. In order to be reinstated, he must meet the requirements of Rule 513-13-2-.02.

Rule 513-13-2-.04 Eligibility for Retirement Benefits

(1) All applications for retirement must be confirmed by the Board of Commissioners. However, the Secretary/Treasurer may begin payment of the monthly pension before the confirmation if all papers are in compliance with the laws and rules governing the Fund.
(2) In the event a person receiving retirement benefits under this Act is again appointed or elected as Sheriff of a Superior Court in Georgia, he will forfeit his retirement during such time as he is again serving as such Sheriff.

Rule 513-13-2-.05 Payment of Death Benefits

The Secretary/Treasurer is hereby given the authority to make payment to a surviving beneficiary of any amount due, as outlined in Ga. Code 47-16-102 without waiting for approval from the Board, provided satisfactory proof of death is established.

Rule 513-13-2-.06 Creditable Peace Officer Service

The Secretary/Treasurer is hereby given authority to approve any prior Peace Officer service as creditable which has been approved as creditable by the Peace Officers' Fund, except those positions which are part of the Correctional System. Any service which might be questionable, must be passed on by the Board.