GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 553-11 CHANGES IN STATUS

Rule 553-11-.01 Changes in Status Which Must Be Reported

(1) A licensee shall report the following changes to the Board:
(a) A change in an individual's or qualifying agent's legal name.
1. A change in an individual's or qualifying agent's legal name must be submitted on the designated form established by the Board within 30 days of the change.
2. Notification must include copies of legal name change documents (e.g. divorce decree, marriage license, etc.)
(b) A change in address or location.
1. A change in mailing address or physical location for the Individual or Qualifying Agent must be submitted on the designated form established by the Board within 30 days of the change.
2. A change in mailing address or physical location for the business organization must be submitted on the designated form established by the Board within 45 days of the change.
(c) A change in the name or structure of the business organization.
1. A change in the name of the business organization must be submitted on the designated form established by the Board within 45 days of the change and must include a Certificate of Amendment from the Corporations Division of the Secretary of State's office.
2. A change in the structure of the business organization (e.g., ABC, Inc. to ABC, LLC) is not considered a name change and a new application will be required.

Rule 553-11-.02 Disaffiliation of Qualifying Agent

(1) A licensee shall report a change in the Qualify Agent affiliation with a business organization to the Board:
(a) A Qualifying Agent must notify the Board within 30 days of the termination of the relationship with the business organization for which they are licensed as qualifying agent by submitting a Disaffiliation form, as established by the Board. A Qualifying Agent license shall be placed on inactive status upon the Board's receipt of such notification pursuant to Rule 553-10-.01.
(b) An owner or officer of a licensed Residential or General Contracting company must notify the Board within 45 days of the termination of the relationship with the affiliated licensed qualifying agent by submitting a Disaffiliation form, as established by the Board. A company license shall be placed on inactive status upon the Board's receipt of such notification pursuant to Rule 553-10-.01.
1. If the licensee is the sole qualifying agent for a business organization, the business organization shall have 120 days from the date of disaffiliation to submit an application to the Board for another Qualifying Agent, unless the respective Division receives other substantiated information that the company is no longer in business.
2. After the passage of the 120 day period, the business organization shall be placed on inactive status and cease to be considered licensed as a Residential or General Contracting company until a new application is approved by the appropriate division.
(c) An owner or officer of a licensed Residential or General Contracting company must notify the Board within 45 days of the company no longer being in business by submitting a Disaffiliation form, as established by the Board. A company license shall be placed on inactive status upon the Board's receipt of such notification pursuant to Rule 553-10-.01.
(2) Contracting as a qualifying agent after the date of the termination of the relationship with the business organization shall be considered unlicensed practice and is subject to disciplinary action.
(3) Renewing a qualifying agent license after the date of the termination of the relationship with the business organization shall be considered fraud and is subject to disciplinary action.

Rule 553-11-.03 Prior Approval

(1) A residential or general contractor who holds a current and valid residential or general contractor's license in the State of Georgia may request issuance of a new license by the appropriate division without examination under the following provisions:
(a) Notify the Board of his or her desire to engage in the same category of residential or general contracting which license was issued to him or her in their capacity either as an individual licensee or as a qualifying agent for a business organization by submitting a Prior Approval application with required supporting documents, as established by the Board, along with the required fee.
(b) Shall otherwise meet the requirements for licensure.
(c) Shall not be in violation of this chapter.
(2) A residential or general contractor who was previously issued a residential or general contractor's license in the State of Georgia, may request issuance of a new license by the appropriate division without examination under the following provisions:
(a) Notify the Board of his or her desire to engage in the same category of residential or general contracting which license was issued to him or her in their capacity either as an individual licensee or as a qualifying agent for a business organization by submitting a Prior Approval application with required supporting documents, as established by the Board, along with the required fee.
(b) Submit evidence of attendance of required approved continuing education for each biennium that the license was not active if required by the respective Division.
(c) Shall otherwise meet the requirements for licensure.
(d) Shall not be in violation of this chapter.
(3) Failure to provide proper notification of disaffiliation pursuant to Rule 553-11-.02 shall be considered a violation and is subject to disciplinary action of a public reprimand to include a fine, in addition to any other conditions required by the appropriate division.