Chapter 570-30 PUBLIC SCHOOL BUS INSPECTION
|(1)||The school bus inspection program shall apply to every public school bus as defined by O.C.G.A. 40-1-1 which is owned by a state, county, or municipal government or under contract by any independent system.|
|(2)||The Commissioner shall appoint such employees as deemed necessary to perform both the administrative and inspectional tasks as provided by these rules.|
|(1)||"Employees" means "Troopers" or "other Departmental Personnel" designated to supervise the inspectional efforts and to enforce related statutes and rules.|
|(2)||Independent school system is a municipal school system.|
|(3)||Inspection sticker is synonymous with the term certificate of safety inspection.|
No fee shall be charged by the employees of the Department of Public Safety for any inspection sticker, inspection or rejection of any school bus.
The expiration date of all inspection stickers will be midnight of the last day of the month in which they are issued, one year hence. The Commissioner or his designee, for good cause shown, may extend an inspection sticker when reasons beyond the control of the Department preclude an inspection prior to the initial expiration date.
A purchaser of a bus, which vehicle prior to subject purchase was not required to be inspected, shall be allowed a 5-day grace period in which to obtain an inspection following the date of purchase. A bus purchased by a school system on which the original motor vehicle title has not been previously issued may be operated for up to 12 months following the date of purchase before an inspection is required.
The departmental employee, after vehicle passes inspection, shall affix an inspection sticker to the upper left-hand corner of the windshield of the approved vehicle as viewed from the driver's seat.
Departmental employees shall write in ink all pertinent data on the reverse side of inspection sticker and validate expiration of same through use of appropriate expiration year tab. Further, they should punch with ¼ inch punch the appropriate month of inspection.
Reports of all inspectional efforts shall be maintained by employees as designated by the Commissioner.
|(1)||Before an inspection sticker may be issued for a bus, the bus must pass a minimum North American Standard Vehicle Safety Inspection (Level 5).|
|(2)||In addition to the minimum requirements of a North American Standard Vehicle Safety Inspection (Level 5), each bus must further meet Georgia School Bus Specifications standards established annually by the Georgia Department of Education.|
|(1)||All public school buses shall be inspected annually or at the discretion of the Commissioner by employees of the Department of Public Safety.|
|(2)|| Each public school bus shall be inspected
In accordance with the authority cited in O.C.G.A. Title 40, these Rules shall have the force of law. If a responsible bus is denied an inspection sticker and is subsequently operated without having a valid sticker affixed as provided for in these Rules and associated statutes, the violation may be deemed a misdemeanor.
|(1)|| No school bus shall be driven unless the
driver shall have first satisfied himself or herself that the following parts
and accessories are in good working order:
|(2)|| The driver shall also satisfy
himself or herself that the required emergency equipment is in place and ready
school bus operator shall require its drivers to report, in writing, at the
completion of each day's work with respect to each bus operated. The report
must address, at a minimum, the following parts and accessories:
|(4)||Daily reports shall identify the vehicle and list any defect or deficiency discovered by or reported to the driver which would affect the safety of operation of the vehicle or result in its mechanical breakdown. If no defect or deficiency is discovered by or reported to the driver, the report shall so indicate. The report shall be signed and dated by the driver.|
|(5)||Prior to requiring or permitting a driver to operate a bus, every school system shall repair or have repaired any defect or deficiency listed on the driver vehicle inspection report that would be likely to affect the safety of operation of the vehicle. Every school system, school contract carrier, shop foreman, or mechanic shall certify on the original driver vehicle inspection report that lists any defect or deficiency that the defect or deficiency has been repaired or that repair is unnecessary before the vehicle is again operated. The original driver vehicle inspection report and certification of repairs shall be maintained for three months from the date that the written report was prepared.|